TSA - Transport 'Stuffers' America


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California
July 8th 2008
Published: July 8th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Day 7 - LA

Nothing much happened today. We took a local bus to the mall and back.

Except….. our second encounter with the TSA. Transport “Stuffers” America - it’s a government dept formed for your security. Look’em up.

Anyway we arrive at the LAX in plenty of time - 5 hours to be exact as our plane was delayed 1.5 hours.

We get our boarding passes and are then informed that WE need to take our check-in bags over to the other side of the airport to get x-rayed and then checked in.

So we walk over to “the queue” - what a joke. It wasn’t even organised. No start, no end just a whole lot of confusion with those passengers from BA, Korean Air, Aeroflot and Thai Airways grouped together. We hand over our bags and (I - Kym, make the mistake of ‘locking my bag’) are then forced to wait while the bag goes through x-ray in case I need to unlock it so they can rummage through it.

Freaking 25 minutes later our bags are still just sitting there as more and more people are dumping there’s off. There’s tension in the air with people’s flights soon to board etc… and people just patiently waiting while these d*&^#heads f*#@ around.

I asked the lady if I could unlock my bag and she retorts “my job is on front of the rope and that’s all I know”. I then ask the guy behind the rope and he says “once behind the rope maaaaaaaaaaaammmmm, no-one touches it”. F^$k.

50 minutes later and our bags go through without incident along with the other 60 bags that had piled up. Not quite sure what the machine did in the end!

So now we sit, relaxing in the Qantas Club writing our blog!

(E) I could have written this myself.


Advertisement



8th July 2008

Welcome to America...Now please leave!
Hmmm I hate it when i'm right! LAX sucks BIG TIME. Sorry you had to go through that..
8th July 2008

Finger Nails
Wondered if you'd actually slipped your finger nails into a pot of chocolate while you were waiting for the icecream to be served. It certainly looks like it to us. By the way, your Dad wants to know if you finished the desert off and if so, he would be very proud of you!

Tot: 0.264s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0517s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.4mb