Disneyland – The Year of A Million Dreams


Advertisement
Published: May 10th 2008
Edit Blog Post

What better way to celebrate Sean’s 28th birthday, then by spending the day at the Happiest Place on Earth? Yep, despite Sean’s misgivings, I managed to talk him into spending his birthday at Disneyland....
So our Bloody Huge day started at 8.45am. (I was secretly a little disappointed, because I had long planned to be standing in the queue at gates open. However I couldn’t really say too much, noting that it wasn’t my birthday). Anyway, we made a dash straight for the Jungle Cruise in Adventureland. With that ride under my belt, I chilled out a little and we started to wander around at a slightly slower pace. Oh, I should also mention here that we arrived right in the middle of a Californian heat wave, so at 9am it was already stinking hot.
We then found ourselves in a line heading towards the Haunted House of New Orleans Square. We were not expecting much and got a big surprise, as it ended up being one of the best attractions of the whole day. From there we went on the raft across to Davy Crockett’s Island (I desperately wanted a photo with Captain Jack Sparrow, who looked sooooo much like
Jungle CruiseJungle CruiseJungle Cruise

They're not real!
Johnny Depp, but just missed getting close enough to him), the train around the park and Mark Twain’s paddleboat steamer (which was so beautiful).
Sean’s favourite land was Tomorrowland; with Space Mountain and a very funny Jedi Knight Training Academy. I think his other highlight was running into Goofy up in Toontown. Goofy was one of only a handful of characters we saw all day and just happened to be standing nearby - without a posse - as we exited from Mickey’s House.
My favourite (after the haunted house) was the Pirates of the Carribean ride. I also liked the Indiana Jones ride, however, we didn’t get here until after 8pm, and I was probably starting to wane a little.
So we certainly lucked in with the short queues. We put it down to the hot weather and being off season. The longest wait was 40mins for Splash Mountain and then 25mins for Space Mountain. More often than not though, we managed to walk straight in. The food was also (surprisingly) very good.
So the Parade of Dreams was just great (Belle was gorgeous) and the fireworks were truly incredible. Tinkerbell flew out on a suspended wire above the Disney Castle with a multitude of fireworks going off in the background.
Oh, and I really shouldn’t forget to mention that our offer on a house in Newcastle was accepted.....



Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

Haunted HouseHaunted House
Haunted House

A very beautiful haunted house
GoofyGoofy
Goofy

(On the left)


25th May 2008

Rusty Shirt
It's nice to see you're getting good mileage out of that shirt bro! Happy Birthday....way too late, but I don't think you got my text message somehow.
31st May 2008

Sean's Notes
Thanks Bro. I have to say that I did not think it would be cool to spend my 28th Birthday at Disney land, but it was a fantastic place. The fireworks would have been the best I have ever seen and the place was so efficiently managed. The Rusty shirt has a few more days in it yet. Also, take note of our scores in the Buzz light year photograph.

Tot: 0.254s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0688s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.4mb