Sac town


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California
November 17th 2007
Published: November 17th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Need City. After stopping at a number of beautiful, but small city's and towns, I needed something a little bit larger. Sacramento fills the need. Probably spend a couple of days here as there is lots to keep up busy.

First off, the Taurus is clanking again, I think I have come to peace with the fact that if I want to drive 60mph or more, I will hear clanking.

Second off, basketball. I'm a huge fan and have been killing myself for not seeing enough while traveling. Thats all about to change. Now Sacramento has been a notoriously hard place to get basketball tickets. The Kings' recent...well...they kinda suck now, as a result tickets are a bit easier to come by it seems. I got a couple of cheap seats for the game against the pistons for the 18th. I was dead set on getting tickets, and I got them, however, I was really hoping for a more exciting team. The Pistons vs. the Kings, maybe back in 2001 it would have been good to watch. I wouldnt watch this game on TV but live ball is always (hopefully) more exciting. Being at the game, drinking over priced beers, heckling the Kings fans sitting close to me, maybe making up a story like I'm from Detroit and have been following the Pistons around since the season started, all good fun.

Another thing I feel like I must do here is visit the Sacramento Zoo . The reason for this: I have become infatuated with animals and nature movies. Particularly BBC's Planet Earth . This is a must see, even if you don't think you like this sort of thing I guarantee you that you will enjoy this series. Its shot over a number of years they capture some of ht emost remarkable footage from the world's most remote areas. Check out the Editorial Review on that link, where else have you seen scuh a strong recommendation. They shoot (film, not bullets) some snow leopards which looked beautiful. Anyways the Sacramento Zoo has these snow leopards and I'm real excited to see them in person.

With big city's come big prices though so we are economizing a bit by staying at this HI Hostel . Its actually lovely and is an old mansion, not the popular notion of a hostel being a grungy bunk bed only type place.

I'll write more after the events.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.182s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 10; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0586s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.4mb