The Golden Gate & Salsilito


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » San Francisco
September 20th 2010
Published: June 21st 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 37.7792, -122.42

I love it here! I've never been to America before and it's not as shiny as I thought. All those dodgy 70's styles are still here today, I thought it would have been more like home for some reason but it just adds to the appeal. I feel like I'm staying at the Cunningham's from the 70's TV show Happy Days!

I love the diner's, the cable cars, the dodgy crooked Lombard Street which is where we're staying. The trams, and cables above, the bay and marina, the parks, the Golden Gate Bridge, Salsilito and back via Alcatraz.

I'm glad I got to spend around a week here, I can't believe how lucky I am to have clear views of the Golden Gate bridge. I love walking over the bridge, stopping watching boats and ferries underneath and taking in Alcatraz, I never ever thought I would be here, I can see how far it is to attempt to escape by swimming out, but you would definitely say it's impossible.

When we get back to the harbour, I wander down through the marina and museums and try the Dunganess crab which SF is famed for, it's really good! Raymie's stomach was
turned with the smell so he's off sitting in a pub! But while I'm enjoying my crab there's a whole load of commotion out in the street, there are thousands of cyclists coming down the road... and they are all 'nude'!!! It's some sort of protest, but Raymie misses it all.

We end up in Haight & Ashbury a couple of nights and I like the night scene here, it's very chilled and laid back. Have a couple of Jack's and get talking to some locals, really good😉. CC's has also become a local, she's friends with Don Johnson who stays just down the road, and is a huge Journey fan with all sorts of photos and signed memorabilia up in her bar. She's sweet, and obviously had a taste of Hollywood high life!

I'm sad to leave and bring an end to my journeys, it's definitely made me realise that it's not such a big bad scary world out there but one to be embraced! Let the adventures not end here!


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement



Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0303s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb