San Francisco


Advertisement
Published: April 26th 2017
Edit Blog Post

I open one eye and peek over at Kirsten, she is peaking at me with one eye. We both grin at each other and ask did you sleep as good as I did. We answer yea, then roll over for another 30 minutes.

After getting up from a great night sleep. And a wonderful HOT shower we are out the door for breakfast and planning our day.

Breakfast was wonderful, we both feasted knowing we’d be walking our legs off today. As we’re eating Kirsten breaks out her travel notes and starts with where we’ll be picking up the FREE shuttle all the way through to when we return on the FREE shuttle. And yes, everything we plan on seeing in between.

Yes, Kirsten and I both have been to San Francisco; however, I’ve never really done San Francisco. Yes, I’ve been across the Gold Gate bridge and done Fisherman’s Wharf but that’s about it.

After breakfast, we’re out the door and across the street we catch the Emeryville Go-Round (free Shuttle) to the BART Station (Bay Area Rapid Transit). Twiddle DE and Twiddle DA are standing in front of ticket machines trying to figure out how to purchase our tickets as San Franciscans are trying to get to work. Yeah, we’re experienced tourists.

Finally, we’re on the train into San Francisco, now where do we get off? Kirsten says, I got this. Me… I’m wide eyed making sure the guy next to me isn’t pick pocketing me.

Kirsten grabs me after a couple of stops and pulls me out the door. I jump thinking someone is getting me. Calm down… no one is going to get you, now stay close. I’m on her like a fly on honey, you though I was going to say…… We wander through the station looking for assistance to purchase a 1 day San Francisco passport. This pass lets you get on and off the trains, busses and trolley cars all day for one price. Ok, we find the booth, Kirsten ask for the one day passport, the lady says $23 each. Kirsten says no its $21 the lady says no its $23. I am standing there holding my credit card and Kirsten and she are looking at each other, the lady leans forward and says you are right. But you must purchase that one outside at San Francisco’s Information office you know the (I). Kirsten smiles and says thank you, me I shrug my shoulders and follow Kisty.

Now that we have passports and city maps we start vondering through San Francisco’s streets. Now I understand why we have a passport….. there is not a flat street anywhere in San Francisco. Before long I’m panting and needing a break.

Finally, we’re on the trolley heading toward Ferry Terminal. We get off at Pier 1 and wander through the farmers market. Kirsten is looking, touching and smelling the flowers, vegetables, cheeses and meats. Me, I’m looking for a cool beer.

We ride the tram to Fisherman’s Wharf being normal tourist when we get to Ghirardelli Square I see this little restaurant under McCormick & Kuletto’s. We sit down planning on just having a beer but see they have Fish & Chips and we stay for lunch. It was delicious and the beer was a great tasting Pilsner.

After lunch, we catch the bus to Golden Gate bridge park. We hop off and take in the Golden Gate Bridge and everyone taking photos. Yes, we also took photos in fact Kirsten has become good using her Selfie Stick from Lori.

We walk back to the Wharf area along the bay stopping and enjoying the scenery. The walk is long but very comfortable lots of folks riding bicycles, jogging and just strolling like us.

On our way back, I see this beautiful park that I’ve always seen in movies, we took a short detour to see it. It’s the Palace of Fine Arts. It was built for some fair way back in 1915. It wasn’t supposed to remain and was built using very inexpensive materials. However, everyone loved it and decided to rebuild it using the good stuff.

Look it up on Wikipedia https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Palace_of_Fine_Arts .

We then visit China Town, well it’s more like we went through China Town to get to Grace Cathedral. While we are riding the bus through China town this old Chinese lady gets on the bus and sits down next to me and starts talking Chinese to me. I’m smiling and nodding my head like I understand her, finally she hands me her buss pass to show the bus driver. I do and the bus driver looks at me and grins.

We hop off the bus and catch a trolley up to Grace Cathedral this trolley is being run by a couple Nazi’s they were checking tickets and making everyone sit down. They found one guy who didn’t have a ticket and made him pay. No free riders on this Trolley.



After walking through the cathedral, we ride the bus back to the bay and have dinner hopping between restaurants. Kirsten and I enjoy restaurant hopping have a little here and then move on to the next restaurant for a little more. It’s fun, try it.

We watched as the sun set over the Golden Gate Bridge and promised each other we would return. We catch the BART back to Emeryville, as we’re walking toward our hotel we go into Trader Joes to get wine, cheese and olives for our train trip the next day.

We are back into the hotel and in bed by 11 PM, what a day I’m tired.

Tomorrow the Great Train Adventure continues.



Good night


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement



Tot: 0.353s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.1427s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb