Day 4: Alcatraz Island and Fisherman's Wharf (Jan 2015)


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » San Francisco
January 12th 2015
Published: February 22nd 2015
Edit Blog Post

Monday, 12th January 2015

This morning started with a foggy outlook as I made my way to the bus stop.

I had booked my USD 30 Alcatraz Cruise so it made sense to bite the bullet and go ahead with my travel plans no matter how tempting it was to rot indoors. 4 days on, my body wasn't reacting too well with the jet lag and the sudden change in weather.

I got down at the same Embarcadero BART station and continued my journey to Pier 33 to board the cruise to Alcatraz Island. This small island off the coast of SF was used as a maximum security prison until 1963.

Thanks to the morning fog, the views of SF from the island was simply breath-taking. Even though I was not feeling well, I managed to cover most of the sites on the island and made a quick tour of the main prison complex. For some reason, my body felt extremely uncomfortable upon entering the prison cells. I decided to follow the cues from my body and made a quick exit at the earliest instance.

By lunch-time, I was done with Alcatraz and continued on to Pier 39 where the touristy Fisherman's Wharf and the Sea Lions Marina were located. This was a nice place to stroll around and order a serving of fish & chips for a quick bite. The servings were always huge enough to last me for lunch and dinner.

Since I would be back again in SF after my trip to Hawaii, I decided to leave some sights unvisited today. Instead, I went home earlier to pack my belongings for the trip.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



Tot: 0.138s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 14; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0508s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb