Day 5: Aloha Hawaii, Sunset Waikiki Beach


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Hawaii » Oahu » Waikiki
January 13th 2015
Published: February 22nd 2015
Edit Blog Post

Tuesday, 13th January 2015

I took an early morning flight out from Oakland to Honolulu via Hawaiian Air. The morning snack was nothing more than a fresh fruit platter with some cheese and crackers plus a nice serving of Hawaiian Host chocolates. I am never a cheese person but I must admit that it went really well with the rest of the platter. A refreshing pineapple juice was served on board.

5 hours into my journey, I arrived at Honolulu feeling refreshed and ready for my adventure on the island.

I boarded "The Bus" from the airport to my hotel at downtown Waikiki, the beach strip of Oahu Island. The whole commute took more than an hour but at just USD 2.50, this must be one of the cheapest airport commute in the world.

I arrived at the Ewa Hotel ready for check-in and ready for some sleep. I haven't been sleeping well at San Francisco over the past few days.

It was already evening by the time I woke up again. By then well-rested, I was greeted by one of the most beautiful sunsets as the sun made its descent over Waikiki Beach. There was also a free Hula Dance performance which I lingered on for a while before dinner.

Day 1 in Hawaii was for me to understand the neighbourhood better. I gathered that it was really easy to get around by foot or by "The Bus" services. Hawaii was generally safe for me to explore on my own as I look forward to my coming days on this beautiful Oahu Island.

Aloha.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.103s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 12; qc: 31; dbt: 0.0572s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb