Day 3: San Francisco Highlights (Jan 2015)


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » San Francisco
January 11th 2015
Published: February 19th 2015
Edit Blog Post

Sunday, 11th January 2015

Sightseeing was kept to the minimum today since it was quite late by the time we woke up (no thanks to the jetlag).

After a quick brunch, I followed H to Berkeley where I continued the BART to Embarcadero Station. Coming from the eastern suburbs, this was the first stop that defined San Francisco downtown proper after crossing the Bay Bridge.

I walked over to the San Francisco Railway Museum at the corner of Market Street to take a peep. On normal occasions, I would be extremely excited at the prospect of viewing the vintage street cars display. Perhaps, it was plain tiredness from the long journey that I did a quick walk through before exiting the museum in 20 minutes.

The ferry building marketplace, oftened touted as one of the must-visit destinations in SF was my next stop after taking pictures at the San Francisco-Oakland Bay Bridge. This was yet another okay visit that housed several eateries and gourmet markets. Walking along the promenade along the Embarcadero Street was a pretty nice experience even though I decided to save Fisherman's Wharf at Pier 39 for another day.

Instead, I took a walk across Chinatown which would eventually lead me to the Powell Street shopping district. This was quite an atmospheric walk even though at times I felt a bit unsafe even during daylight hours. Shopping at Macys and Westfield Shopping Mall were my last stops of the day.

This was a day where I set out to orientate the city proper and to check out places that would warrant another visit in the coming days.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0472s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb