Comic Con!!!!!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » San Diego
July 21st 2011
Published: June 22nd 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 32.7157, -117.162

After getting up early, we headed to the Gaslamp area to park in a parking garage for $12. Then we headed to go wait in line for about 2 hours. The line started outside, then it went inside, up the escalator, around the west side of the building along the back side, and then back to the east side. We sat for about an hour. At 9am they let us go down the escalator and into the exhibitor hall. Some people were actually running! Naomi and I split up since she was interested in different things than I was. Outside of the exhibitor hall, sessions were being held to discuss a wide range of topics regarding comics, whether in comic books, movies, tv shows, art work, or anime. I attended one regarding Battlestar Galactica. Richard Hatch, who played Apollo in the original series, moderated a Question and Answer session with some of the writiers and science consultants for the old and new show.After 2 hours the place was packed. You were either bumped or you bumped people to get through the exhibit hall. I stopped by one booth that had Star Trek Voyager actors to try to get an autograph and/or picture. However, the cost would be $30 for a personal picture taken with them and $30 for a signed autograph picture! Forget that! So I snapped Garret Wang (Ensign Harry Kim) and Robert Picardo (The Holographic Doctor) from the next booth. Naomi and I met up for lunch at the convention's Cafe Express. Almost $20 for a small pizza, nachos, and 2 drinks! Afterwards I wondered around for another hour before discovering a hidden restaurant at one end of the convention center. It was almost empty and I was able to grab a table near an outlet so that I could plug in my phone and laptop. I grabbed some fries and a fountain soda ($9). By 3 I text Naomi to let her know that I was done for the day and to let me know when she was done. Come to find out she was ready to go about 1! So we met up and headed back to Long Beach. Unfortunately, it was rush hour so a normal 1 1/2 hours ride took 2 hours! Naomi fell asleep for a short time. We grabbed some McDonalds on the way back for dinner. It was a long day, and I was ready for bed!


Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement



Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.026s; cc: 11; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0254s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb