San Diego


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » San Diego
January 14th 2011
Published: January 17th 2011
Edit Blog Post

We got in to port around 6:15, snoozed a little, took showers and went upstairs to meet everyone for breakfast. We ate breakfast and waited to clear customs and get off the ship. We got off about 10:30 am but then had to wait because Ken forgot his garment bag. A worker went up and got it for us. I think we were the last ones to go through customs. We picked up our vehicles and dropped Josh and Eduardo off at the Sophia Hotel. We are staying in the Marriott Gaslamp; they are about 6 blocks away. At first, we went to the Marriott on the Bay by mistake. Ken and Jason had already parked the cars and Uncle, Lola and I had gone to check in, when we discovered we were at the wrong hotel. It was a very nice place…kind of disappointing to have to leave. Jason was very frustrated when he found out we had to pack the cars up again and go to the correct hotel. It was only a few blocks away and is very nice too. We checked in, unpacked and decided to go to La Jolla for the rest of the day. We parked near a church. I love La Jolla. It was a beautiful day, just the right temperature and sunny. We walked around for awhile and once again talked about how we need to find a way to move here. We enjoyed looking at the cute, unique (expensive) homes along the coast. We were all hungry going through cruise withdrawal and found a nice little restaurant up some steps, overlooking the ocean. I had a salad, Josh had a beef sandwich w/au jus, Eduardo had fish and chips, Uncle a hamburger, Lola had French fries (and whatever else she wanted off of our plates), Jason had fish and chips and Ken first ordered a grilled chicken sandwich but then ordered the fish tacos. I had a glass of MacMurray Ranch Pinot Noir, Josh had water and all the other guys had beer. It was a nice lunch that extended into the afternoon. The guys (except Josh-he was driving) had more beer as we sat on the patio. Josh was entertaining us with his French tourist impersonations. Lola and I went shopping next door. We got some shells for Bella. The shop owner thought Lola was adorable and let her pick something from a shelf. She picked a ceramic cat.
We went back to the restaurant and it was time to take a walk to the cove to see the seals. The park along the coast is so beautiful. We always take a picture in front of this one tree that I love. Beautiful grass, trees and flowers everywhere. We walked down the steps that took us to the beach where the seals are beached. There are a few swimming in the water. We have fun there for awhile, taking pictures, laughing…just simply enjoying the moments. I feel so good. The sun is setting, the waves are splashing….doesn’t get much better.
We walk back to the truck and head back to the hotel. We decide to go to the 22nd floor of the Marriott where they have a rooftop, outdoor bar with fire pits. As we get off the elevator, we are told no children so I say I will take Lola to get some hot chocolate while all the boys have some guy time. I thought Lola would complain but she didn’t.
She and I went down to the restaurant. We ordered hot chocolate with whipped cream, an Irish coffee for me, and a Chocolate Baby Cake dessert to share. After we enjoyed all those calories, we took a walk. Lola spotted an ice cream store so we went in. Lots of sugar, I know, but I’m the grandma and we are on vacation. She ordered blueberry on a waffle cone. The owner asked where I was from and I said Tucson. Of course we had heard about the shooting while on the cruise but certainly not any details. He shared a bit with me and I am glad I wasn’t around for the saturation of media coverage. I always think about the outpouring of attention for certain events/people and how must the mother who just lost a child to a drive by shooting or the mother who just got notified about her soldier son being killed and no one even knows. I know, I know it’s not the same, but that’s just the way I feel.
Lola and I went back up to the room and she took a bubble bath. After a long soak, she wanted to play doggies. This means we crawl around the floor on all fours, barking, drinking water from a coffee cup, doing what dogs do. My name is Sparky, she is Butch. Sparky has to rest more than Butch. I convince her Sparky needs to rest so we watched 2 episodes of Mickey Mouse. The guys are still not back so we decide to go to sleep. I would not have traded with anyone, this time with Lola.



Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement



Tot: 0.244s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 8; qc: 41; dbt: 0.0951s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb