Off to see Ben


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » San Diego
September 30th 2009
Published: October 23rd 2009
Edit Blog Post

The bus trip down to San Diego was ok. It took the freeway which is the inland/more direct route so I missed the scenic OC coastline but that was expected. Ben picked me up from the bus depot and quickly whisked me off to a Mexican restaurant where 4 of his new colleagues were having dinner. See Ben has only just started this job himself and so is still getting to know the people he will be working with. The week I was with him he had an orientation and so many of the nights were spent drinking and getting to know each other. After a few shots of tequila (a brand called 1800 cauvous or something....awesome as...smoothest tequila ever!!) and a few burritos we called it a night and headed back to Bens. I made myself comfy on the couch and fell asleep...a couple of big days lay ahead.

Being the middle of the week Ben still had to work so I took this opportunity to go and see 2 of San Diego’s biggest attractions; the Zoo and Sea World. Ben informed me that the zoo was “just around the corner” from his place which was great...a stroll would be nice...I thought :S. An hour and about 2 litres in body fluid later I arrive at the zoo and proceed into a place that ever since I was a little, visiting the San Diego zoo has always been something I have had pencilled into the diary. It is renowned for its size, array of animals but most of all the sheer effort they put into building and housing the animals. I was not disappointed. Up close to tigers, polar bears, elephant’s giraffes and lions and I know you might think...yer a zoo is a zoo but this place is on a whole new level. Walking tracks, a constant bus shuttle/tour that takes you in and around the enclosures, a cable car that spans the length of the zoo as well as a rain forest that I swear at one point, I thought I was in the middle of the Amazon; pretty amazing. They say there is also a sister zoo with a heap more animals and open plain like the Werribee zoo but being about 30 mile out of San Diego I just couldn’t make it out there.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.123s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0296s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb