Shamu


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » San Diego
October 1st 2009
Published: October 23rd 2009
Edit Blog Post

Day 2 and I geared up again to venture off this time in search for animals we tend to find more under the water, rather than above it. Some might remember sea world from the movie Free Willy although as much as I hoped it was, I don’t think that movie was actually based in San Diego. Not sure where it was but it didn’t matter. They called the whales Shamu. I don’t know where the name came from but that is what the show is called at every SeaWorld. To see those whales up close, performing tricks and interacting with people no different to how you would with your own dog at home was just incredible. Such enormous, beautiful and majestic animals that could kill in a heartbeat and yet they play and interact with people like they are equals is something you have to see with your own eyes to really believe. I loved it. I also took a video of the whole show haha so when I get back; anyone that is interested can have a watch to see what I am talking about.

Aside from the whales Sea world had all the usual stuff; dolphins, aquariums, polar bears, oh and they had while beluga whales oh and a walrus which omg, was the biggest “seal” I have ever seen in my life. Incredible. They also had a cable car that took you for a ride over the bay as well as a huge revolving sky deck both giving a really awesome view of sea world and the surrounding coastal landscape. Such a beautiful area. That night Ben and I again met up with again with the work crew at a restaurant down near the beach. Had a really nice dinner which again was paid for by one of bens colleagues (put on the company card) haha. It was a great day.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.22s; Tpl: 0.03s; cc: 10; qc: 45; dbt: 0.112s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb