Ghost Towns and Gold


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » Redding
November 11th 2007
Published: November 11th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Welcome back ya'll. Eureka was great and we were certainly sad to say farewell. Who knows, we may decide to spend some more time there but for now the road was calling. We hit the road and headed due (more or less) east to Redding Calif. I guess the Calif was kind of redundant there but alas.

Anyways the main reason we headed down this wya is because I have always had an infatuation with the whole 'gold rush' in California history thing. Why, I don't know. Secretly I have always wished i was in on those days, panning fo rgold with a dirty beard, feeling down on my luck, only to cash in on a large nugget of gold that hits me in the feet. So anyways, 6 miles west of Redding is the Shasta State Historical Park I eagerly navigated us here for what was sure to be a thrilling day.....It didn't quite work out that way. The park was kind of lame, it may have killed my youthful crush on the gold era days....I'll let you know the long term effects. Well the park wasn't lame actually. It turned out to be a very nice area and we enjoyed our walk around. I don't know what I was expecting....gold thieves, people panning, I don't really know. But like I said its a nice walk about. Famished from our hike around Shasta, we decided to head back into town where we found out that Redding restaurants are plentiful and (well the one we picked) cheap and hearty. As it was getting late and had nowhere to stay, we jumped back onto the I-5 freeway until we found Cypress Avenue exit which seemed to advertise some hotels. The beautiful Motel 6 seemed appropriate and we crashed there for the night. We may actually head back to Shasta park today and do a bit of camping, there was a brochure at the motel 6 which intrigued us. Anyways breakfast calls.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.156s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0518s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb