Goin Goin, Back Back,, To Cali Cali


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » Eureka
November 9th 2007
Published: November 9th 2007
Edit Blog Post


So I never intended to start a travel blog. But I tell you: being on the road as much as I believe I will be leaves you lots of time to think. Does anyone else out there as your doing something start formulatin gin your head how you will relay this experience to others. Like what you will say, what parts you will omit, what parts you will stress. Anyways, call me crazy but sometimes my mind works like that.
So anyways, here I am, its me, my moms old '96 Ford Taurus, my girlfriend T, a little bit of money, even less of a plan (go south through cali.), but a lot of heart people.
We made the decision to stop into Eureka California, mostly due to the name. What a place though. Eureka is right on the coast, and is filled with gigantic cedar trees. Apparently it used to be quite the place for lumber barons. I've always wanted to be a baron. Anyways T and I walked around the town for a bit, hopped on a little boat tour . After that we made our way to the quaint historic old town where we met another couple who were also roadtripping through Cali. We went with them to go grab a bite to eat at this place they were planning on going. It's called the Samoa Cookhouse . Mine and T's kinda place. Laid back, no menu, you get what ever is being served. We got a homemade tasting brisket, potatos, vegetables. No nonsense. Just the way I like it. After that we went and got some drinks in a little victorian style dead empty bar. Which was fine with me as I was looking forward to a quiet night. After drinks we headed back to the trust Travellodge, which is one of the many affordable Eureka hotels . Which brings us to today, T's still sleeping, Im always up early, I took a quick walk, started this little blog, and will soon go wake her up. Not sure what our plans are for the next couple of days but I rather like it here. I may push to stay and relax for a little while.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.204s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0538s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb