First Day in Cali


Advertisement
Published: April 15th 2010
Edit Blog Post

I landed in LA and the Pacific Time Zone around 11:30pm and was met by my father and his awesome wife Tammy. I was tired as a dog from the flight, and the party the night before, what a blast! I wanted to get to sleep fairly quickly to forget about Villa's result against Chelsea at Wembley, and dream about the upcoming trip.

The next day we woke up and got ready for a Sunday in LA. This actually means no traffic for the most part, but it still took us 30 minutes to get to an area of town known for it's Eastern influence. The three of us ate at a great place called Ocean Star Seafood Restaurant. They are known for their awesome dim sum, a chinese dumpling/pot sticker. Both Dad and Tammy are known for eating them in large quantities, and taking them home for leftovers as well. They treated me to a great lunch and after that we took a drive to get Dad to an audition. Tammy and I walked around a very Latin area which made me feel back in Central America, everyone spoke Spanish which I just looove. We bought some things at the 99c store and made our way for home.

That night one of my great friends (Aaron Barrier) that I had met in Costa Rica in 2008, was playing a show at a bar and restaurant named Mozambique (how fitting!) in Laguna Beach with his band Beyond Rhythm. They're a great reggae band and they played two great sets! There are photos of the show here, as well as the rum and coke fest that we enjoyed. And here is a video of Beyond Rhythm playing at Mozambique in Laguna Beach. After the show, Dad and Tammy jetted back to LA and I headed to Riverside with Aaron and his band. The plan was going accordingly, and I had enjoyed a great first 24 hours in California...


Additional photos below
Photos: 72, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0205s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb