We're in LA! -cough-cough-


Advertisement
Published: June 14th 2007
Edit Blog Post

184 charts184 charts184 charts

You thought I was exaggerating?
Upon reflection, I have to say I don't care much for air travel. All those people standing too close. All that waiting. The bad food. Sitting where so many other asses have sat. Something about our flight into LA yesterday confirmed for me that boat travel is really the way for me to go.

If we'd gotten lost, though, Harry had all 184 charts with him. We could have pinpointed our position in a matter of minutes.

We're here! The flight was fine (except for the people, the food, the close air and so forth) and the super guy who sold us the boat, Bill, met us at the airport with his son, Jesse. I don't know why I was concerned about carrying all those heavy bags.

We got into the marina around 9 and fought our way through the boxes in the cabin. Bill told us they'd left more than half in the marina office because they wouldn't fit. We'll go up to get them in a little while; we're still trying to find places for everything we got out of the boxes that are already here. What do you do with a stack of rubber
Broker Bill and son JesseBroker Bill and son JesseBroker Bill and son Jesse

I can't believe how nice these people are.
gloves, and why did we send them here?

I hadn't anticipated it being so much trouble to settle in. It's like moving into a new house, I guess, but the closets are smaller and the posessions are more peculiar.

There's a great little coffee shop/diner here at the marina, with a menu so full it would seem the kitchen would need to be twice the size that it is. We'll enjoy going there, particularly since we have no other option until I go shopping and provision the heck out of this boat.

In bummer news, Chris and Sarah aren't going to be able to sail with us tomorrow. !!! Totally lame. But apparently Sarah needs to meet with Vail (yes, the ski resort) or something important like that and it's, like, all about success and so forth so what's a sailor to do? You've got it - find new swabbies.

Hey, and Peter just arrived from the airport! He and Harry are using a sawsall (major piece of equipment, with sharp edges) to hack at the boat. Hmmm. Must go inspect.

Broker Bill is loaning me his BMW SUV to drive to Whole Foods. I'm
Joy finds the boat!Joy finds the boat!Joy finds the boat!

I'll miss my heels and mini-skirts.
off!

J




Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

ExhaustedExhausted
Exhausted

But happy!


15th June 2007

gotta love that smog eh
Glad you guys made it. Hope you are loving the new Joy, never can have enough Joy in your life.

Tot: 0.242s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0966s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb