So close, and yet...


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Oregon » Eugene
June 10th 2007
Published: June 10th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Shayla's all packed.Shayla's all packed.Shayla's all packed.

She had to bend her legs six ways to fit into the bag. You should see her try to walk now.
While many of you believe we've already departed Eugene for our destination, thinking wisely to yourself that no sane person would be putting up travel entries unless they were ... traveling, the truth is that we still have four days of home time before we leave town. This is to say that the adventure began for us weeks ago when the planning stepped up from "we'll sail up the coast" to "where shall we anchor in Smugglers' Cove?" and "what's a good remedy for seasickness?"

Today, Harry packed up Shayla. Then he realized she still has three days of school left, so he took her out of the bag.

Shayla and I packed her bag together, including ski pants, Sophie's super-cute rain boots and the hat Shayla knit in school last year. Shayla stood in the closet holding a tank top, gazing sadly at her improvised foul-weather gear. You can be sure we threw the tank top into the bag, if only to send a hopeful message to the sun gods.

I put together our provisioning list today, after spending the last week agonizing over which recipes to take on the trip. What I WANTED was to
The droolbooks.The droolbooks.The droolbooks.

These might fit in the forepeak. Some day.
take my entire library of cookbooks. I relented on this and instead made photocopies of several recipes from each cookbook. I could honestly argue for the inclusion of at least two of the cookbooks, on the grounds that I do read them in my leisure time. A good cookbook introduces colorful characters, establishes sensible plots and generally makes me drool all over myself. I think that's precisely the requirement of good reading.

One of the requirements set to me by both Captain Harry and Crew Pete is that we be well-supplied with ginger. Fresh ginger, powdered ginger and even ginger beer are apparently good remedies for seasickness. Consequently, I've got recipes for ginger snaps, gingerbread pancakes, gingerbread (with the optional creme anglaise, a sure antidote to whatever positive effects are imparted by the ginger) and ginger-lime fizz, a super drink made spectacular when mixed with rum. I'll have mine without the ginger, lime or fizz, I think.

I've so far proved immune to seasickness, an accomplishment I carry with a peculiar combination of smugness and trepidation. I'm well aware that it could get me at any time (that is, at any time that I'm on the sea) and
Draft I: ProvisioningDraft I: ProvisioningDraft I: Provisioning

The pointy-compass thingy is there to provide direction: no trans fats, high fiber, lots of fruits.
I'm doing all I can to appease Karma, Dharma, Jesus Christ and his sister Sharma by exhibiting humility on this topic. Harry knows he'll get queasy, and has enlisted the entire pharmacological industry on his behalf, believeing, I guess, that they're a more sure bet than Karma, Dharma, Jesus Christ and Sharma. He's got an arsenal that includes MotionEaze, Dramamine (original formula), Stugeron, Transderm Scope, and the ultimate secret weapon: Promethezine Suppositories. Peter will be bringing along the bizarre but highly effective wrist-pulse gadget, a toy that sends electric zings through your pulse point. I've worn this one and my suspicion is that it's merely a distraction tactic. I got so freaked out by what was going on with my wrist that I forgot all about rolling seas and instead nurtured the concern that my heart was going to short out.

More on hearts shorting out when we post from Pillar Point.

J



Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Pharmacology is our friend.Pharmacology is our friend.
Pharmacology is our friend.

Particularly when Karma fails us.


11th June 2007

Cookbook
I vote that Joy write a gourmet sailboat cookbook. Is there such a thing yet? If not, I forsee an excellent opportunity for a culinary queen. I can already see the chapter headings . . . Making the most of a tiny kitchen, Creative Cookwitchery, Recipies for those who are seasick, Harvesting the ocean marketplace, Port of call shopping guide, 12 Knot BBQing, etc.

Tot: 0.151s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0623s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb