The Happiest Place on Earth!


Advertisement
Published: May 15th 2010
Edit Blog Post

I have now decided that the coast of California is beautiful. We have taken the coast road (the #1 and the 101) from where it starts at the Oregon/Washington border, down to where it ends in Los Angeles. We've experienced windy roads, tight turns, and slow speeds, but it's been great views the whole way down.

Our last night on the beach we camped in Morro Bay, and our site was literally next to the ocean. We even pulled out lawn chairs and took our dinner down to the beach to watch the sunset. I would recommend everyone do that at one point in their lives.

The next day we got to drive from one end of the Los Angeles valley to the other, because we entered in Santa Monica, and Anaheim is pretty much at the other end. At 2 in the afternoon traffic isn't that bad. Slightly better then the Deerfoot at rush-hour (for those from Calgary). And what's nice is that our hotel is right after the turn-off, on Disneyland Dr.

Yes Disneyland is an amazing place. A little cliche, but still fun. We got to go on all of the major rides, got very wet in Splash Mountain, and ate large ice cream sundaes.

Today was a sightseeing day, and from an observatory in the foothills we got to see the smog layer over the city. Quite gross.

Tomorrow we head out to Lone Pine, and start our trek the next day. No more updates for around 12 or 13 days, so everyone wish us good luck and good weather.

Advertisement



16th May 2010

we're jealous
Hi Orla, Bill says those mountains we saw on Street View didn't look like the Rockies at all, but I'm not so sure. I hope you get off on the trek as scheduled tomorrow. Love to you both. Mum
16th May 2010

Disneyland
I remember going to that Disneyland by myself many years ago. You probably had a lot more fun than I did on that trip. Bon Voyage Mum
16th May 2010

I envy you
Hey Orla. I wasn't a bit surprised to hear you wre off on your travels again :-). I envy you and your adventures. As soon as circumstances allow I would love for Aisling and I to do something similar. I hope ye have a great time and keep the updates coming.

Tot: 0.095s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0592s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb