Getting There , Slowly


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Arkansas » Benton
February 12th 2016
Published: February 13th 2016
Edit Blog Post




78 days to retirement!.( 55 workdays ) I will miss it , making and tasting food for a living is fun . I will miss many of the people I worked with. One of the things I will not miss is all the acronyms. I don’t believe we used acronyms back in the 70s when I started in the food industry, Maybe we did but I don’t recall using any. I think the more acronyms one uses in the corporate world today in conversation and meetings is a clear sign of corporatitis . I believe If one can get a message across in a meeting using the least amount of dictionary words the better their chance for promotion. I sit in meetings and bob my head as saying “ Oh ya , I know exactly what you mean and I certainly agree that the DNP part of the QTS needs a LLY replacement ASAP . Nope ,I’m not going to miss acronyms.

Another very peculiar thing too that amazes me at work is the use of the word “SO”. It seems that a lot of people are starting their sentences with it . When did that start? If I ask Henry what he had for lunch he answers “ So, I was going to have the meatball stew but decided on the Hungarian Gulash “ . Or Me to Henrietta “Tell me about your weekend” Henrietta “ SO , I went to the movies with Betty and dinner with Henry and ate really great Hungarian Golusah “ I don’t get it. Then maybe I don’t want to . Anyway I digress.

95 Days to the Camino! I have started to step up exercising some ,weather permitting . Don’t want to do to much to quickly . I think that’s what happened in 2014 . Did I mention that the problem was actually a bone spur on my L5 vertebrae ? All the pain I experience in my hip was from the spur in L5. Go figure . This is what ended our 2014 adventure. “SO” this time I’ve been to a pain management Dr that is giving me steroid shots into the L5 region to dead’n the pain . It’s been working wonderfully. Had a shot in March 2015 and one last month . He will be giving me another before I leave. I also take a non-narcotic pain killer Tramadol that is helpful. Tramadol is like Aleve but on steroids. Being almost 70 yrs old with many aches and pains gives me special dispensation for oral and intra skeletal drug taking .

My plan is to bump up the exercise gradually then set it to cruise control with some intermittent yoga to keep those muscles stretched. My good friend and neighbor Tami Thomas is a yoga instructor and she has help me immensely in this .

I try and mix it up when walking . Mostly Hickory Creek State Park , Devils Den State Park and Lake Fayetteville. Lake Fayetteville offers up a Nature Trail for bikes and hikers and a All Purpose path for general use. I like the Nature Trail . The Lake is only 4 miles from work ( 4pm) so I can get there quickly before the sun sets and walk 5 miles . I posted a couple pictures of Lake Fayetteville . I also have started walking the hill road in front of my house. It's steep . It's hard . It's 1/2 mile top to bottom so doing round trip twice is some fairly good exercise.

Stay Tuned

.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.359s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0497s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb