Getting Buttoned Up


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Arkansas » Benton
March 17th 2016
Published: March 18th 2016
Edit Blog Post

From today , March 17, to May 17th when I leave for the airport I have to get buttoned up , "Tuck in the sheets"is another way to put it . Between now and my flight I have to 1) Have a 70th birthday , 2) Retire 3) Make sure all my Medicare paperwork is completed. 4) Get my travel insurance in place 5) Get my final shot in my back 6) Finish my taxes 7) Update my life insurance 8) Don't spend all my money before I go . 9) Avoid all numbers that represent "111"

111 << This number here has been plaguing me for a long time . , for instance awhile back I suddenly wok e up and the clock said 1:11 am . a day or two later I turned on the news and the newscaster say's 111 people were drowned in floods somewhere in South America . A quick snack at the 7-11 is $1.11 . I have a presentation to give on my website ( Deadfred.com) March 26 at the Muskogee Ok Genealogy Society , Google Maps tells me it's 111 miles away . Checking the route between Los Arcos Spain where I will begin my Camino and Viana Spain where I will stop for the first night takes me parallel to and occasionally along route 1110 . Lastly , there's 111 guestbook entries in this Blog! Please , someone , add an entry ? . Hey Universe !! What's this all mean? What are you telling me?! Does anyone know ? Maybe only the shadow knows.?

Not that it's going to stop me from my self appointed adventure. Just that these type things really spook me. Maybe it's a sign from the Ether telling to beware and be aware . If you have any idea let me know . I have come up with a couple ideas

Meaning of 111?

1 Click my heels 3x and say " There's no place like home" ?

2 Three strikes and your out?

3. Father , Son and Holy Ghost?

4. 3 coins in a fountain?

5...?

Just don't get it.

anyway...

Training has stepped up . Still doing 5 mi sometimes 6 mi also stepping up the frequency with full backpack . Lake Fayetteville , Hickory Creek , hill in front of house and Hobbs State Forest.

and.. It's getting to be ticky tack time .

Ever hear of SPOT? I have one . A friend at work lent me his for the trek

Here's what the SPOT ad say's

"The latest in the line of SPOT rugged satellite GPS messengers, the SPOT Gen3 keeps you connected even when you’re off-the-grid. Using the power of satellite technology SPOT works virtually anywhere in the world. Check in with your personal and professional networks, send custom messages and let others track your location in real-time via Google Maps. In an emergency, transmit an SOS with your location to GEOS International Emergency Response Coordination Center. "



Ever hear of a Dazer? I bought one .It's suppose to repel Dog attacks with the flick of a finger . Reading up on dog attacks on the Camino several Pilgrims have said this handy apparatus was put to good use .. except one lady , the dog took a chunk from her butt before she could say ouch . Had to go to the hospital for surgery . Maybe I'll walk backwards

Here's what the Dazer add say's

"If you’ve ever had a problem with a dog who won’t stop advancing then the Dazer II is for you. Using the latest ultrasonic technology, the Dazer II produces a discomforting(but not harmful) high powered sound that is audible only to dogs. This sound effectively deters unwanted behavior."

So I bought one .

My next planning requires getting from Madrid to Logrono , I was going to get a plane $90 and 45 minute flight but my flight from the states gets in at 7 am and the plane to Logrono leaves at 7 pm . So it's a Bus or a Train I haven't decided which one yet . ALSA Bus 5-1/2 hours or RENFRE Train 3-1/4 hours .. Train is more comfortable but $50 more than a bus. Next I have to book a place to stay in Logrono for a couple days to rest my weary head once I arrive finally up and off to Los Arcos to continue my walk along Route 1110



Decisions Decisions ..More to come ... Buen Camino 😊


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



18th March 2016

Following you.
I'm Bill Reeds sister and have followed your last trip, look forward to following this one. Sorry can't help with the 111 but me thinks it is better then 777 or the likes, think it means your number 1all the way. I'm kind of a do different then others, so appreciate your trips, it's good to show our children, grand and greats that there is nothing you can't do if it's something you want to do and not going to hurt anyone else. Sending you a pray for a safe trip so carry it with and will be adding more to it.
21st March 2016

HI Lynn
I know who you are :) . I like the way you think woman! I will keep that in mind when I get spooked again :) Thank you for the prayer , please keep them coming ( Joe ..Lauries husband )
19th March 2016

I'll be staying at the Marriott AC Roija...
in Logrono when I pass through in September...my rest break at the end of week one. I'm using points but it's inexpensive in euros. I'm counting down with you.
21st March 2016

Marriott Points .
That's the way to travel .( Points) . I was able to get my roundtrip flight for $168.00 using frequent flyer miles . Sweeet! . 57 days to go for me . :)

Tot: 0.093s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0458s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb