Day 10 Phoenix to Apache Junction 41 miles


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Arizona
September 28th 2008
Published: September 29th 2008
Edit Blog Post

This content requires Flash
To view this content, JavaScript must be enabled, and you need the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.
Download the free Flash Player now!
 Video Playlist:

1: travelblog2008 153 10 secs
2: travelblog2008 154 22 secs
First Solar BuildingFirst Solar BuildingFirst Solar Building

Aye I'm struggling for material
Sept 28th
Sunday morning a good time to negociate central Phoenix , light traffic an all. Once again my early departure is frustrated as there is no one around to give me back my rest-room key deposit.
Phoenix is kinda bland but more or less flat. Apache Junction is only 40 miles and I aim to get in early to motel room paradise. Instead of stocking up on water I rely on buying stuff on-route. The first 20 miles are okay with a slight wind against , the next 10 miles are harder as the breeze gets stiffer and the last 10 miles are a total grind with what seems like a bloody gale right in my face, a slow puncture on my rear tyre which needs re-inflating adds to the misery.
I stop at starbucks again to confirm my bearings at 2pm, and hooray I'm only 1 mile from the 'Apache Junction Motel' when I get there there is no pool but at $49 per night I book two nights and decide to have a rest. I am in air con heaven ! Sheets, microwave, fridge, wow !!
Apache Junction does'nt live up to its exciting name but is agreeable
El rRio SaladoEl rRio SaladoEl rRio Salado

That is the salty river
nonetheless. Hard job finding a bar though , I had a quick one in a motorcycle bar but my mode of transport and I (Turquoise Thai silk shirt, shorts and sanddals) are out of place. Its off to bed at 10.00pm for the best nights sleep in ages I feel guilty as hell.




Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Paul NewmanPaul Newman
Paul Newman

One of my favourite actors passed away yesterday
PhoenixPhoenix
Phoenix

Where are you Pheonicians ?
Biker BarBiker Bar
Biker Bar

I don't think it's nice, you laughin'. See, my mule (er bike) don't like people laughing. He gets the crazy idea you're laughing at him. Now if you apologize, like I know you're going to, I might convince him that you really didn't mean it . . . If only I'd been wearing a poncho.


1st October 2008

Iv'e seen Davids chocolate star fish...
Who is this cheeky limey Onefordeemoney! Is he for real!!! Boyhowdy does he think we all barbeque road kill and gang rape cyclists!!! That hardly ever happens nowadays...and whats a dalek? Yours Ray Liotta

Tot: 0.22s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0574s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb