Day 11 day of rest


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Arizona
September 29th 2008
Published: October 3rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Sept 29
Wow was that a good nights sleep, after camping for 10 days, the luxury of a motel room, air con and bedsheets is a sheer delight.
I spend most of the day on the internet, chatting , route planning, and watching cnn where for a change there is actualy breaking news as the worlds financial system goes into convulsions due to the 'bail out plan' failing to be passed.
I pay a visit to a gigantic Walmart store where I get some bike stuff , a gel padded seat to help combat saddle sores, some extra inner tubes, and a new bike lock. I also get myself a 'self inflating mattres' since after chucking my usless airbed I have been lying on a piece of foam about 1 cm thick which has made for some uncomfortable nights, those would be even harder to put up with after having such a comfy sleep last night.
Re-stock on kitchen roll since going back to Shackelton no expedition can possibly succeed without
adequate supplies of this stuff.
There is nothing much going on round the motel which is run by a pleasant indian gentleman.
I get talking to the guy in the next room, he seems to be some kind of drifter, been all over the states and has had bad luck just about everywhere he's been, I get tired of saying 'gee that was a tough break '.
The excersions of yesterday especialy the bloody wind took their toll on my body and I wonder I I have worn myself out , perhaps tomorrow I'll go 5 miles and have to call it a day. The angst thinking about the, hard day ahead and the packing and prep mean that I dont get to sleep till well after midnight. I could not face food today and did'nt eat till 8pm , a leg of turkey .

Advertisement



Tot: 0.122s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0461s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb