Day 9 Wickenburg to Phoenix 53 miles


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Arizona
September 27th 2008
Published: September 29th 2008
Edit Blog Post

This content requires Flash
To view this content, JavaScript must be enabled, and you need the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.
Download the free Flash Player now!
 Video Playlist:

1: travelblog2008 152 19 secs
US post officeUS post officeUS post office

The clean lines of the Post office in a remote area attracted my attention
Sept 27th
My hopes of getting off to a flyer by 7.15 are dashed when I discover the trailer has a flat ( was I riding with that yesterday ?) I change the tube - thankfully I bought a new one in Aguila- and get away at 8.00 as usual.
The wind is not against me for a change and over the first 15 miles I am flying , average speed 13mph !
I had a huge energy drink, one litre, and at 10am a small super concentrated energy potion, loads o caffiene! and cover 30 miles by mid- day with no food and few stops and even a slight wind against in the later stages.
At starbucks in 'Surprise' on the outskirts of Phoenix I decide to do another 10 miles and stop at a motel.
The ACA route is not the most straightforward through Phoenix, picking out only roads with cycle lanes and against my instincts I decide to follow it, as some of the roads without cycle lanes can be dangerous.
An hour into the journey I have a problem , no motels , I get off route , still no motels , I ask around , no
ArizonaArizonaArizona

The scenery is fairly barren
motels , strip malls abound, shops and nail parlours everywhere but no motels. As its getting well into the afternoon, over 100F and I am up to nearly 50 miles I opt for an in town RV park in a kind of run down area, argh camping again.
Well at least there is a pool and internet. On the plus side I have covered a decent distance and I have a great chinese buffet, which at 6pm is the first I have eaten today. I pop into a 'scheme pub' but leave after one drink as the clientel are a bit scary. I have a huge spotlight shining right on the tent but I'm so tired I dont care.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



30th September 2008

Your helmet
You look like a bit like a dalek. I noticed you had a yellow jersey on in the video. Are you trying to convince the locals that with your European accent and Ray Liotta looks that you have actually led the Tour de France? We know better. A tip for going into scheme bars - don't order a pina colada with marachino cherries and an umbrella.

Tot: 0.297s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.1466s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb