Daytrip to Sedona


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Arizona » Sedona
June 25th 2005
Published: June 30th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Montezuma's CastleMontezuma's CastleMontezuma's Castle

The sign says that 35 people lived in here. It's amazing how it was built so high up! Okay, though it does remind me of that Scooby-Doo episode...
Road Trip!! Okay, so I rented my first car in a foreign country. Rentals driving to Sun Peaks don't count because I've driven the Coquihalla countless times in Casper and then Oz. They gave me a staff discount at the rental place because I work for the hotel but being the big chicken I am, I bought insurance which doubled the cost anyways.
I was a little bit nervous because a) I didn't know the road and b) I'd been watching the news about some major wildfires in the area. Once I got on the highway, it was all good. I made a mental note of a couple of areas that I wanted to stop at on the way back (Outlet shopping!).
My first stop was at "Montezuma's Castle". It's not really a castle but a well preserved homestead built into a canyon wall by prehistoric Sinagua farmers (that's what the sign said!). It was pretty neat but HOT! I think the temp that day was 108 F.
Next stop was Sedona. There was nothing more amazing than driving along where everything is kinda flat & green/brown and then you take a curve in the road and suddenly there's a hill
Red Rocks of Sedona1Red Rocks of Sedona1Red Rocks of Sedona1

View from Chapel
with patches of pink. Take another curve and you see a huge rock that looks like a big multi-layered strawberry cake (I think that it was Courthouse rock.) I just drove around Sedona just taking in the amazing sights. I have no idea which rock formation was what - somebody told me one of them was called the "Elephant" but I just couldn't see it. I think it was just another tourist pulling my leg. Some of the most amazing views were from the Chapel of the Holy Cross and along the Upper Red Rock Loop. Bunny didn't come on this road trip as he stayed back at the hotel with the other bunnies.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Red Rocks of Sedona 2Red Rocks of Sedona 2
Red Rocks of Sedona 2

More views from the Chapel.
Tlaquepaque Tlaquepaque
Tlaquepaque

Remember the artsy aunt in "Twister"? I stopped in this arts & craft village and an artist creates these wind thingys. Imagine the wind blowing and everything moving. Really neat!
Red Rocks of Sedona 3Red Rocks of Sedona 3
Red Rocks of Sedona 3

View from Upper Red Rock Road. Cathedral Rock is in the background.
Along Red Rock Loop RdAlong Red Rock Loop Rd
Along Red Rock Loop Rd

How's this for an amazing view from the backyard? Cathedral Rock again.
Princess BunnyPrincess Bunny
Princess Bunny

One of the bunnies back at the hotel that my Bunny was hanging out with.
Fountain @ hotelFountain @ hotel
Fountain @ hotel

Night shot back at the hotel. Friday night I watched the "Dive-In Movie". Hanging out in the pool watching a movie while floating on a inner tube. So cool.


30th June 2005

Great Pic's
Love the View at Red Rock Loop Rd.....

Tot: 0.188s; Tpl: 0.023s; cc: 8; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0541s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb