Working Hard or Hardly Working?


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Guerrero » Acapulco
July 24th 2005
Published: August 10th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Bunny on the BalconyBunny on the BalconyBunny on the Balcony

View from my room.
This was one of those trips that I only had 2 sort of days off so I had to make them worth it! The weather was gorgeous when I arrived so as soon as I got off the plane I headed straight for the pool. I wandered down to the beach but I was unimpressed with the murky grey of the water. And the stories about the armed guards at the beach entrance are all true! The beach is federally controlled so there was a guy all in black with an uzi just watching the touristas going down to the beach. I would've taken a picture but he was kinda intimidating.

So I spent most of my free time hanging around the resort but considering I was working until 8pm most nights, there was much free time. It also gets dark earlier in Mexico because it's so much closer to the equator.

We got out one night to see the cliff divers. They dive into this narrow strip of water from 39 metres up. The really impressive part is that they have to climb UP that 39 m cliff to get to the diving point. Being the tourists that
Looking over the swim up bar.Looking over the swim up bar.Looking over the swim up bar.

I went to the swim up bar but I never did order anything from there.
we are, we paid 180 pesos (~18USD) for a view from a restaurant deck that came with 2 drinks. Yeah, we knew it was a scam but we did it anyways.

We also went another night to a flea market in d/t Acapulco. I've got to remember not to ask how much something is! That immediately starts the bargaining process - so I ended up buying a necklace/bracelet set that I hadn't planned on. Oh well, it was probably a deal. It was fun but the market was covered and all the stalls made it feel very cramped. The heat was insane and everybody was sweating buckets just standing around.

It was great to be travelling with Juan from Calgary. He was actually born in Mexico City so his spanish was great. I wouldn't have dared going to some places without him around. He took the bunch of us to a really neat local outdoor place for fresh tacos and cervesas. Yummy, yummy, yummy. I regretted it a little bit the next afternoon but it was all worth it....

Stay tuned for notes from Boston.


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Beach is so closeBeach is so close
Beach is so close

This is facing my building, you can see how close the beach is.
Golf CourseGolf Course
Golf Course

Something for the golfers. This is early in the morning, I can't imagine anybody being able to golf past 10am in the morning.
Speed BumpSpeed Bump
Speed Bump

So the story behind these massive, head jarring speedbumps - 3 General managers ago got kidnapped so these big speed bumps are all along the driveway to slow down potential kidnappers.
View from Cliff DiversView from Cliff Divers
View from Cliff Divers

The evening sunset from the restaurant deck while waiting for the cliff diving show to start.
Cliff DiversCliff Divers
Cliff Divers

The divers jump into the water from the left and then have to climb up the cliff on the right in order to jump again for the show.
Last dayLast day
Last day

I was just wandering around my last day before my flight home and thought this was neat angle.


11th August 2005

Cliff Divers
The sunset before the cliff divers show is well worth your 180 pesos.
11th August 2005

Speed bump
Don't you mean "Speed Bunny"???

Tot: 0.146s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0489s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb