Leaving Phoenix


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Arizona » Phoenix
March 24th 2017
Published: March 24th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Set off from motel early as had long hard day ahead, 80 plus miles with over 5500 climb. Went well for the first 40 miles and then felt like I was running on empty, my legs just died and I was pushing my cycle up not huge hills. I realized that in cyclists terms. I bonked. This is when you have used up all the stored sugar in your liver and are running on empty. I reviewed my diet over the last few days and I had had a salade as the main evening meal for the last 3 nights and very little bread, potatoes,rice ,pasta or ice cream . You cannot do long distance cycling with out loading with carbs. Our energy output daily is over 6000 calls and I am only eating and drinking 3500 at the most..lesson learnt, had Quinoa and rice having arrived at Tonto Flats

Left for Globe. A huge climb but managed to cycle 95% and puts my bike up stiffest bits. Still traveling thru cowboy film scrub. You could imagine any western being filmed. Saw horse box with 5 tacked up horses waiting to unload and get to work.

Arrived at community park to camp for the night. No showers, only one loo (without a door) and no hot water. Not impressed.

Woke early to get some privacy on door less loo. Frezzing cold with horizontal rain and sleet. Had brief snack for breakfest and had to pack wet soggy tent. Back on road but still cold. Slowly warmed to 55 F in day as we cycled thru "Geronimo" and all day went thru Apache Indian reservations. Very upsetting to see such a once proud nation with all the signs of chronic deprivation and no hope.

Arrived at campsite in town of Safford to Find all locked up and closed. As we had been wet and cold with no sanitation the previous night, our leader wisely swiftly got us a motel.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.108s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 9; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0538s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb