Phoenix: Surprise! I love hiking!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Arizona » Phoenix
November 27th 2014
Published: March 20th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Our first road trip... The idea was to take a cheaper trip, and to be honest, it was cheaper, compared to Africa. However, it was by far the most expensive road trip we will have taken.



Apparently I watch too many movies, because the idea in my head, was this romantic excursion with the husband, with everything planned out, in a cute little notebook. He would drive, and I would read the history of each stop. Everything would go as planned, and it would be a fairytale.



The reality was nothing like this, but it was better!



We flew Southwest, because, well, it's the best. We rented a car from Fox- which gave us great service but renting a little economy car in the mountains is a terrible idea. More to come on that. When we landed, we headed to see Tovrea Castle, only to find it was not open. In fact, its hardly ever open when it says its going to be, so never plan to see it. Then we headed to do a mini trail, but ended up at Camelback, the most popular trail there.



We were not prepared for a hike, but we didn't care. We got out of the car, changed into pj shorts in the parking lot, grabbed a bottle of water and a selfie stick. While taking the first picture, my phone fell out of the selfie stick and shattered! My pictures after that were guesses, hoping we would be in the frame. We started to make our way up the mountain. I stopped and took a picture every ten feet and annoyed the crap out of my husband. After awhile I realized that they view was doing to remain the same, so I settled down. It was so hot, and honestly hard. I loved that we had to climb railings and use our upper body to get up to the top. When we reached the top, I felt extremely proud of myself, because I was not an athletic individual, and I made it without dying. The way down was much more painful though. It was hard on the knees, and I complained a little.



When we got to our hotel, the Pointe Hilton Squaw Peak Resort- we showered and went to this place called "A Hole in the Wall". I'm not sure if the food was really amazing, or if we were just really hungry, but really, it was amazing. The resort had a fire pit, where we hung around and met some cool people, and sang some pop songs with their kids.



In the morning, we tried the castle again, gave up, and headed off to the Grand Canyon.


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement



Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0423s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb