Monument Valley and the Grand Canyon- June 14th


Advertisement
Published: June 15th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Saw two really cool things yestarday. First, I went to Monument Valley which is about 45 miles down the road from Bluff. Lots of cool red buttes. After that, I decided to go on to the Grand Canyon as the weather was not too hot. Very cool. I wasn't really excited about seeing the Grand Canyon, probably because of my fear of heights. The place was really cool, though, and the overlooks weren't too bad. Driving into the park, I was surprised at all of the trees. I wasn't expecting it to be so forested. As I was walking along parts of the trail I was stopping about every 25 feet because it was that cool. I got to stand at one of the overlooks and watch the sunset behind the canyon which was awesome. As I was walking back to my car, I passed what I think was an elk, because it was much bigger than a deer and had a big rack. If I would have moved over two steps I could have touched it. Driving out of the park was a little scarey because I didn't know if I would see any animals around the next corner, but I only saw one elk or deer on the way out.


Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement



15th June 2009

Big Rack
Gotta love those big racks! Pictures are great!
15th June 2009

Your sense of humor
Ya got Chris back with that pix! Loves those pix--gorgeous. Amazing what glaciers did--gee you could very well be around to see what 50 years from now looks like in our environment. Miss you and very happy for you. Mom
15th June 2009

Great stuff Matt. I didn't know you were afraid of heights. I'll start buying better baseball tickets.
15th June 2009

Awesome!
So Happy for you Matt are you staying by the Grand Canyon for a while? So many hikes that are lower give them a look but Do Not get lost! Ran in to Ryan yeserday do you have his e-mail to send this to him? If not are you blogging Jan and Jim too he was going to look yestaerday. Nice pictures and glad all is well. Love is... Larry and Bizz
16th June 2009

WOW
Matt I am so impressed with the beauty and your photographic abilities to capture the sites. I'll continue to follow you on your journey and look forward to your commentary and pictures. Stay safe. Love you, Rita

Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0482s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb