Juneau, Alaska


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Alaska » Juneau
June 9th 2007
Published: June 9th 2007
Edit Blog Post


Flying above Glaciers
We arrived today in Juneau, Alaska to the warmest day yet at 74 degrees Farenheit. Juneau, Alaska is the capital of Alaska but there is no roads that connect it with the rest of Alaska. The only way to get to Juneau is by boat or airplane. After docking in Juneau I went on a float plane trip over the Taku glacier. Not to far from the city was miles of snow and ice. In fact the Taku glacier goes on for up to 70 miles. To really see alaska you have to get above and see the great size of all the natural wonders. After the plane trip I suited up to go sea kayaking in Juneau. I entered two person kayaks and entered the sea. We traveled about 3 miles by kayak while seeing sea lions and bald eagles. Kayaking in Alaska is amazing and a great way to see the wild life in and around the ocean. After Kayaking I took the tram up to the 1800 ft top of Mount Roberts were there was still snow on top of the mountain. My time in Juneau was wonderful and the next time you hear from me I will be in the city of Skagway, Alaska.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.149s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0562s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb