Sitka, Alaska


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Alaska » Sitka
June 8th 2007
Published: June 8th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Sitka, Alaska

 North America » United States » Alaska » Sitka By historianherb
June 8th 2007
Herbert Abrams
We have finally arrived at our first port of call which is Sitka Alaska. The cruise ship can't dock at Sitka so we have to take small boats from the cruise ship to the dock. Sitka, Alaska is a small Alaskan town which originally was populated by the Native group called the Tlingit. Later on Russian people came and took over the town of Sitka. The town today is has a mixture of Native and Russian influence. During my trip to Sitka I went sea Kayaking. The water was a cold 52 degrees Farenheit and so I didn't want to fall in the water. During the Kayaking trip I saw Bald Eagles, Star Fish, and sea lions. It was a beautiful area to go Kayaking. After Kayaking I explored the small town and came across Totem poles and a bunch fo Bald Eagles on the beach having lunch. I returned to the ship and we set sail to the city of Juneau. The next time you hear from me I will be in Juneau, Alaska.


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement



Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 32; dbt: 0.0358s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb