Donations!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Alabama
June 9th 2010
Published: June 9th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Recruiting for donations for our Morccan Dinner Party has become a full time job! Spending hours out of my day, emailing, calling and sending letters I've been disappointed with rejections but amazed by the generosity of others!! I'd like to say Thank you to those who have already contributed to our cause!!


To begin with my recruiting, I contacted some friends who are also Pure Romance Consultants. They've each contributed items to a Raffle basket worth over $100!! To Host a Party, Order Products or join their team contact them at their websites and email addresses below.
Pure Romance by Kristie Johnson--www.kristiejohnson.pureromance.com*kristiejohnson@pureromance.com (Phenix City, AL)
Pure Romance by Amber Zarate--www.amberzarate.pureromance.com*amberzarage@pureromance.com (Columbus, GA)
Pure Romance by Crystal Ransom-www.crystalransom.pureromance.com*crystalransom@pureromance.com (Alabama)
Pure Romance by Desiree Snowden--www.desireesnowden.pureromance.com*desisnowden@pureromance.com (Tacoma, WA)

Mary Kay
One of my great friends and old college roommate, Samantha recently signed up as a Mary Kay Consultant. When I contacted her regarding a donation, she asked what I wanted and immediately ordered it! She lives in Bellevue, WA and works full time at Expedia putting her Graphic Arts skills to work! For more information on becoming a Mary Kay Consultant, buying products (I recommend the eyeshadow base!), or hosting a party vist Sams website at www.marykay.com/sdavin

Thirty-One
I met Cari Morgan a few months ago, and hosted a 31 Party. Not only was the day fun, but I scored a lot of FREE Products!! I was able to order my sister a baby shower gift (hopefully she doesn't read this yet since I haven't given it to her yet), I ordered another friend a present for her soon to be born son, Jack, and of course I ordered myself a few things! 31 has a wide variety of products for embroidery! Purses, Totes, Organizers, and much much more. I definitely recommend hosting your own party!! Visit Cari's website at http://www.mythirtyone.com/12046/ I promise you'll love what you see!

Gold Canyon
A year or so ago, I attended my first Gold Canyon Party thrown by a friend of mine, I ordered some candles and they were truely the most amazing candles I had ever had!! After moving back to Alabama from a 6 month vacation in Washington, I decided to host my own Gold Canyon party. Connie Coker was my consultant, and again I earned a lot of FREE Products!! Connie was so very generous and offered all of her thoughts and prayers for my mother, and often calls to check in and see how she is doing!! A few months after my party, I contacted Connie to do a fundraiser to help raise funds for my mother. She set me up with what I needed and on I went with that fundraiser. Of course, when I started recruiting for donations for our Dinner Party, I contacted her and she was more than willing to donate a gift basket, and I know whoever wins this basket will be a forever customer of Gold Canyon Candles!
Visit www.mygc.com/conniesscentsationalcandles

Jennifer
My sister has also contributed to the donation collections! She has created Scrapbooks to add to the raffle! Scrapbooking is a big hobby in our family!!

The support of friends and family through donations have been fantastic, and I'm greatful for their support! I'm also floored by the donations received by complete strangers!

AVON
The other day my husband brough in a catalog that was left in our driveway, and it was that of Avon Representatives, Michelle Alvarado and Amy McQuigg. I flipped through the catalog, of course found some items I want! I remember when I was younger, my mom used AVON and I didn't want to go to school one day so I took her blush and covered my face with it thinking it would make me look sick and I could stay home. It didn't work!! At first I juggled with the idea of asking them for a donation afterall I've never bought a product from them, nor have I ever met them! I decided to ask anyway, the worst they could say was no, and I do plan on buying products! I logged into my email and sent them an email asking for a donation of AVON products for a Raffle Basket. Michelle responded shortly after saying YES!! Michelle and Amy are just beginning their AVON business and would love to become your Representataives, visit their website at www.youravon.com/michellealvarado You can also email them at michelle.alvarado30@yahoo.com or amymcquigg@ymail.com

Dress Me Up Boutique
Yesterday, I decided to stop in at a little boutique in Columbus to follow up on the donation letter I had sent them a week earlier. I'll leave the name of this boutique off, but was nothing but disappointedI spent sometime looking around at the great products this store had, and even purchased a Luggage Tag (i'll need one for Morocco!!). After ringing up my purchase, the sales associate retrieved the store owner. I explained to her what I was doing and she said I may have something for you. A few seconds later she comes out of her office carrying a Pewter colored, church shaped coin bank with a broken bottom in which she explained to me I could just fix with some tape! REALLY? Thanks, 1. this has nothing to do with your store, and 2. Who wants this???? It found its way to my garbage can when I got home. After leaving the store, I was already having a bad day so that made my day a little more disappointing but I decided to pick up my phone to follow up on yet another donation letter, this one at DRESS ME UP BOUTIQUE Brittany answered the phone, and I explained to her why I was calling and without hesitation she said she'd put together a basket and to call her when I want to pick it up! That gave me a nice boost, and i can't wait to see the basket!! You can visit Dress Me Up Boutique at 4405 Armour rd. Columbus, GA

Theatre in the Square
The purpose of Theatre in the Square is to carry on a tradition of live theatre as an important art form, as well as to provide the opportunity to enjoy or participate in professional theatre for all citizens of metro-Atlanta and northwest Georgia. The theatre not only enhances the quality of life within the community, but also pays performers, technicians, directors, designers, and writers, thereby encouraging local theater artists to stretch their imaginations, expand their skills, and develop original works.
The theatre participates in local, regional and national outlets for showcasing our work and our community (i.e., arts festivals, media coverage, touring shows). As a result, it continues to be an integral part of our community and region by offering quality work and encouraging new talent. Consequently, it generates works that will appeal on a national level in representing the character, history, and assets of our region. (www.theatreinthesqare.com)
After sending an email requesting a donation, I had tickets in my mail box two days later!!
Theatre in the Square is located at 11 Whitlock Ave. Marietta, GA 30064

KerFox Photography
I became aware of KerFox Photography after seeing portfolio photos they had done for a hairdresser at the Salon I go to (Salon Wisteria on Armour RD). They not only have their photography business but a Non-Profit organization called Camera Obscure, giving portrait sessions to those less fortunate, to lift their spirits and inspire. Their work is fantastic and proves that a picture is worth 1000 words! and they are donating a picture package for us to raffle off!! Please visit their website at www.cameraobscure.org

Thanks again to all those who are helping make our Moroccan Dinner Party Fundraiser a success!

~Leslie

Advertisement



Tot: 0.188s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0527s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb