Mobile, Selma & Montgomery


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Alabama
April 25th 2018
Published: April 26th 2018
Edit Blog Post

I started today aboard a battleship (USS Alabama) a submarine (USS Drum) and looking at planes at the Battleship Memorial Park in Mobile. Love it. Thanks Pat for the recommendation. Love being on warships.....guess it’s a guy thing.

On my way to Montgomery, I decided to take a side trip to Selma and I’m sure glad I did. I drove on a lot of small country roads and when I arrived in Selma, I surprise myself how emotional it was walking on the bridge. I talked to a few people visiting the bridge and they felt the same. I drove through the town to get a feel for it and I came across some beautiful houses and some very run down houses. Still, a very poor community.

I ran into a little problem when I arrived in Montgomery. They are opening a new museum in town called The National Memorial for Peace and Justice. I hear it’s also referred to the Lynching Museum. All the Marriott’s and Hilton’s were full so I ended up booking a night at a Days Inn through their website. Turned out to be the sleaziest motel so I got out of there quickly. I hope I don’t have to fight to get my refund.


Additional photos below
Photos: 37, Displayed: 22


Advertisement



Tot: 0.05s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0284s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb