Houston, we have contact!


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico
July 18th 2014
Published: September 5th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 20.6736, -103.344

Up this morning at 8:30. It's cloudy but warm, typically for this season. Shower, shorts, and breakfast should make for a great start to the day.

Their continental breakfasts here are free and tasty. Just fruit, muffins orange juice and coffee with a change of fruit each day. With that out of the way, I loaded pictures and published yesterday's blog, organized my stuff, charged all gear and called Martin's house. Talked to a guy that told me they were out for a few hours. Ok. So I walked into town, bought some insect repellant, small "Chiquita bananas" (not the brand name) and stopped for a cerveza and people watching. This kid wanted to shine my shoes and I told him I had sandals on. "I can still do it for you, Señor", he pleaded. I got him down to 15 pesos but he did such a good job, I gave him a 20 with a tip. I'm truly a man with a heart and a big spender too. That cost me $1.70. Add in the bananas for 8 pesos, the beer for 40 pesos, an ice cream cone 16 pesos and the insect spray, I'm out close to $10. This trip is costing me a fortune!

Back at the hotel, I check on the news and and make several more attempts to contact Martin. People answer but he's always out. I decide to make one more try before going to dinner and he answers. Finally! I have connected. I'm invited to a taco dinner at a local restaurant. So I grab a cab 70 pesos and get to their house. All the amigos and familia are there and a group of 30 walk down to the taco place, with more arriving and leaving all the time. It's a giant help yourself feast. Tati shows up with Nick. After the meal, I try to catch a cab back to the hotel but that's not happening. "Señor! Mas fiesta a la casa". I argue that it's late but apparently not in Mexico.

So everyone hangs out in the street at the parents house until 1am. That's when I left. I'm sure they were there long after that because someone just made a beer run. Tomorrow's the quinciniera, Sunday y a grand fiesta at a nearby ranch and Monday the pyramids. I don't know what all that means but I'll find out, whether I want to or not. It's beddy-bye time for this Gringo.

Adios, mis amigos


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

Partying on the streets of Guadalajara Partying on the streets of Guadalajara
Partying on the streets of Guadalajara

Does anyone care that it's 1am? Oh well.


20th July 2014

Wow I can't believe how beautiful Cindy looks! She looks so young and that dress is geogious on her. The blonde bright hair makes her look 20 years younger. She has lost a lot of weight too. So proud of her. She looks great!

Tot: 0.038s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0175s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb