Arrive in Guadalajara today


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico
July 17th 2014
Published: September 5th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Not much to look at from the outsideNot much to look at from the outsideNot much to look at from the outside

It's the two brown buildings.
Geo: 20.6736, -103.344

I'm sitting out in the garden writing this. It's 11am, about 12 hours since my last post back in Oakland. I got on the plane a half hour early and we left right on time, 1:10am. I reserved the exit row aisle seat which cost me $4 more but money is nothing to me. It was worth it. I could put my legs straight out and not touch anything. Flight was routine and I slept most of the way. We got here in 3 1/2 hours and I shot through immigration and customs, grabbed my bag and went to my meeting spot for hotel chauffeur who was caught in traffic and 45 minutes late.

We arrived at the Quinta Don Jose Boutique hotel and wouldn't you know it. The one time Mom isn't here they upgraded me to the suite. I don't know how much of a suite it is yet since I can't get in until 2pm but it's $50 bucks more a night. I had a nice continental breakfast for $5 (free after today) and I've been napping out by the pool. I checked in with Mom and told her how nice it was ( not a
Strolling through the plaza. Strolling through the plaza. Strolling through the plaza.

Lots of action here.
good idea). I thought I would do a bit on the blog now and maybe take some pictures and a walk around Tlaquepaque. The weather is nice, upper 70F with rain showers overnight to clean up the air.

It's 9pm and I'm sitting in the bar at the hotel. I ordered a mango Marguarita and it's fantastic! Real mangos. Delicious. But I digress. I got into my room at 1:30pm and, although it wanted to do stuff, I immediately crashed and woke up after 4. Showered and walked up to El Parian. To check out the town square. There were vendors selling shirts, leather, silver and other souvenirs I took pictures and movies, hanging out and people-watching for a couple of hours. It was clouding up and with possible rain coming, I headed back to the hotel. I missed an invitation to go to dinner with the family but my phone is off unless I'm calling someone. Roaming is the same as calling and i only have 1000 minutes. I'm sure it would have been great but I learned well after they had already left. I watched the news about the jetliner shot down over Ukraine, got depressed and came here to the bar. I just ordered a salad for dinner.

The Caesar salad with French bread was great and I assured the bartender I would be back tomorrow to try another one of his fruit Marguaritas. Off to bed. 4hours sleep in the last 38 isn't doing for me. Goodnight.

Note to self. In Mexico, the water knob with "C" on it means caliente, not cold!! And I call myself a Mexican.

Al


Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement

The restaurant menu.  I had Caesar saladThe restaurant menu.  I had Caesar salad
The restaurant menu. I had Caesar salad

65 pesos /12 = $5. Good deal.
Typical sky here in Guadalajara Typical sky here in Guadalajara
Typical sky here in Guadalajara

Sometimes cloudy, sometimes sunny, always warm. No rain for me yet.
Mango Marguarita. The best!Mango Marguarita. The best!
Mango Marguarita. The best!

El cantinero dice tiene mas flavors de frutas. Mmmm. Proxima- freces. Hey. I'm in Mexico.
Mi amigo al hotele. Mi amigo al hotele.
Mi amigo al hotele.

El no es muy critical de mi espanol. Yo le hablo todos Los Dias. Muy loco.


18th July 2014

Must be nice... Glad to see that you still went . You needed a good break away from everyone and everything. Have fun and keep posting the updates with pictures. :-)Queenie
18th July 2014

all these pictures are great keeps me up to date...Whish I could have been there...... Miss you
19th July 2014

Lol your the man grande Alfredo! We miss you aunt Karen!

Tot: 0.486s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.1522s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb