Rihla #20 (Family Recipe)


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico
February 26th 2012
Published: February 26th 2012
Edit Blog Post

How has the Columbian Exchange & Triangle Trade affected current day foods & culture?
Provide a family recipe that includes at least one of the following ingredients and then answer the questions that follow:
Quesadilla de chorizo con queso y papa.
Quesadilla with chorizo, melting cheese, and potato.
1. What are the origins of this recipe?
To my knowledge, there are no origins of this recipe. My father created this dish for the purpose of feeding his children. It was one of those days that my mother was not getting home unit late and my father had no idea what to cook for dinner. He took what he could find and surprisingly the new dish was good.
2. Does your family in someway identify with this recipe? Why or why not?
My family does not identify with this recipe or any recipe. There is no specific reason for this. We just love any Mexican dish or any dish that tastes good.
3. Do you think people should have access to a variety of foods? Why or why not?
People should decimately have access to variety of foods. Living in the United States, we have a chance to interact with people of different ethnicities and cultures. Trying a variety of foods not only opens you to a world outside your home, it can also initiate a habit of trying new things.
A few years ago I was introduced to middle eastern food and absolutely loved it. Although I have not eaten this type of food since that time, I do want to continue to try foods other than Mexican dishes. Trying new foods also led me to watch movies that are not produced by Hollywood. Bollywood has been my main target when watching movies that are not produced by America. They are definately worth watching.
4. In general, do you think food is an important aspect of one’s culture? Explain.
At a personal level, food is not an important part of ones culture; this is true in my case. Food does not define me or what I do. I am Hispanic and I am linked to a certain country, but I do not identify with the food. This may be because I do not participate in any mexica traditions or events. It is the way I was raised and it does not bother me.


Sent from my iPad

Advertisement



Tot: 0.173s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0431s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb