And the trip begins! Mexico!!!


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico
September 9th 2008
Published: September 9th 2008
Edit Blog Post

UHUUUUUUUUU! Finally here! I spent the whole first week in Mexico city, it was awsome and i had the funniest experiences in my whole life! i arrived Mexico city at August 5th by the morning around 7 am, but i spent almost 3 hours to really "enter" in Mexico, because of the imigration but then, I took a metro to the Zocalo from the airport and arrived safely at the Hostel Catedral. It is a really nice hostel, very organized, clean, funny and with a really nice atmosphere. For sure one of the bests that I have been until now. There was in the last floor a terrace with a nice view from the whole Zocalo (Main Square) where I drank bottles and bottles of beers and uncountable shots of tequila. And I have been, also, in the main hightlights of Mexico City. The Zocalo it is the main square of Mexico City, and I guess it is the biggest one in the world, 'cause it's huuuuge! There are a really nice Cathedral, the Governament Building, a huge Mexican Flag in the center of the plaza and there are a lot of artistic and political manifestations there. A lot of people dressing
Aztec Sun's StoneAztec Sun's StoneAztec Sun's Stone

Most of the people think that this stone is the Aztec Calendar but ins't
Aztec clothes dancing the traditional dance, really nice. It is really the heart of Mexico City and the whole Mexican Country. The Templo Mayor ruins are the Tenothitlan (aztec Capital) ruins really near from the Zocalo. There are a lot of ruins, nice sculptures, and a huge monolyth that was found on 70's. It's a nice visit, and the entrance it is about 5 dolars. The real funny is the local people that, as the same as in the Zocalo, do traditional Aztec dances and "medicinal assistence". It is really nice! The Pyramids are, of course, the best atraction of the Mexico City. They are really, but really huge! To get there, you can get a tour (about 30 dolars) or go by your own, it is easy and sooo much cheaper, I spent about 10 dolars the whole trip ad the launch that I had there. There are 2 pyramids, a lot of temples and the main "street" it is called Avenida de los Muertos (Dead's Avenue). It is really nice but I arrived at the hostel really exhausted!

And, the rest of the days i spent hanging around the city, enjoing the good weather and, finally, I left to Guadalajara in August 10th in the afternoon. I spent there only one night, the city is really nice and beatiful, but one day it is enough to know the City's hightlights. Then I came back to Mexico City and went in the next day to the next destination: Oaxaca!

Arriving Oaxaca, i went to the hostel with Harold, a french guy who came with me from Mexico City, and we went together to the Monte Alban, a really nice archeological site near the city. I spent 2 more nights there hanging around and having some beers with Bert, a guy from Belgium that i met in Mexico City too, he's studying spanish there so he showed me the best spots to drink beer in Oaxaca and, best, cheap! Awsome!

After Oaxaca, it is time to go to the beach. The destination: Puerto Escondido!!! Puerto, like it is called by the locals, it is a awsome place to go, specially if you surf. I catched Moritz there, a German guy that I met, guess where, Mexico City; and he was there since 3 days before I arrive, so he told me to stay with him in a
Good FriendsGood FriendsGood Friends

Cris (UK), me, Nutaphol (Thai) and Moritz (German)
really nice and relaxed hostel called Frutas y Verduras. It is a really small but nice hostel, there are a really nice familiar atmosphere and it is really in front of the beach! And better, in front of the surf spot La Punta. The hostel was OK, but there are only atractions to surfers, 'cause there wasn't such a services like Bar, Internet Acess, no shared dorms (Me and Moritz shared a cabana), it was really focused on surf, the owner, Thomo, it is a Slovenian guy who moved to Mexico to live there and surf. So, we spent the firsts 5 days surfing and we met in the sea a local fisherman, David, who had a little truck and told us that, if we wanted, that he could take us to secret surf spots near Puerto, and was what we did, we travelled 2 days through the Coast, it was awsome, in the back of the truck, with surf boards, backpacks, crazy! We went to places like: Barra de La Cruz, Zipolite, Pachula, San Augustillo and another places that I don't remember the name. Most of them, of course, with awsome waves, so we got a really nice surf there! Going back to Puerto, I spent more 3 days there surfing and, sadly, left, I had to continue my trip. I got a night bus to San Cristobal de Las Casas, it is a nice colonial city, I met a lot of crazy irish guys and girls, I had a good party time at San Cristobal but I left there 2 nights later to Palenque, I small city that have not to do in the city itself, but near the city there are the Palenque Ruins, they are really nice, and in the same tour we went also to Misol-Ha and Agua Azul waterfalls, it was nice, specially because the weather was really warm! I left Palenque in the same day to Merida, in the Yucatan Peninsula, it's a warm colonial city that I spent 3 nights there, but honestly i could spent only one. It is sooooo hot and there's not to do about it, like sea or swiming pool or whatever, it's was a little bit anoying for me that i'm used to be on the beach in the sumer. But was Okay, we (me and david, an Irish guy that I met in San Cristobal) went to the Uxmal ruins, it was really nice, maybe on of the best that I have seen in Mexico. It is not a famous site, so it wasn't so crowded like the other ones that I have been before. From Merida, we decided to go to the beach as soon it was possible, so we got a really early bus from Merida to Chichen-Itza, spent the morning there and then we got a bus to Cancun!

We arrived Cancun by the late afternoon and we got the ferry to Isla Mujeres, when I spent one of the best weeks here in Mexico! I saw a lot of people there that I have met before in other cities and it was sooo nice, I stayed in a really nice hostel called Poc na Hostel, it was on the beach and there was a beach bar where almost all nights we drank soooooo much there, then went to the sea to swim during the night! Everybody drunk! So funny! Most of the people who was in Isla was in the last days of theirs trip, 'cause most of then were going to take the plane back home from Cancun, so they were trying to enjoy the last days as much as it was possible! Really nice! In my 3rd night there I decided to go with more 12 israeli people to the Cocobongo, a really crazy night club in Cancun, it was 50 US dolars to get in (!), but worth it, we got open bar and I tryed (I don't now if I did) to drink the whole 50 dolars, but definitly I was really drunk! I the show there in the club was awsome, maybe one of the bests that I have seen in all my life, Lenny Krevitz, Maddona, Elvis Presley, Kiss, Spider-Man, and another famous stuff that the alchool erased from my brain! A HUGE production! After that I spent my lasts days in Isla only staying the whole day in the beach and drinking at night with Barry and Michael, 2 really nice friends that I met in San Cristobal! When they left back home, it was time to move, I got a bus to my next destination: Playa del Carmen.

Playa is like a "small cancun", with American stores, Starbucks, Burgerking, Mc'Donalds and all that stuff. But it's smaller, so it's not so bothering
Oaxaca at nightOaxaca at nightOaxaca at night

Iglesia de Santo Domingo
like Cancun, that you can't relax. From there I went to the BEST scuba dive of my whole life, on the Cenotes, the underground caves and tunnels that are on the Yucatan Peninsula! Was something really magic, the tunnels, the lights, AWSOME! It was expensive (100 US Dolars) but worth it at all! From there I checked how much it would be to scuba dive on Cozumel Island and, unfortunately, i couldn't afford that, so I skipped Cozumel =[ and moved to Tulum.

I had a really bad luck experience in Tulum, I don't know exactly why, I lost my second flip-flops (my first one I lost drunk somewhere in Isla Mujeres), lost money, I arrived on the beach and started to rain, I couldn't go to the ruins because of that rain, whatever, I decided that was time to move, otherwise I think one shark would bite me on some beach there! And then, my Mexico's adventure finished, I got a bus from Tulum to Chetumal, in the Belizean Border and then I got a bus to Belize City! Mexico was a really nice country and I left there a little bit sad, but OK, I was moving
Crazy FriendsCrazy FriendsCrazy Friends

My friends from my best week in Mexico: Stephe (US), Alex (German), Moritz (German)
to another nice country. Hope to have nice (and crazy) experiences on the other countries.
Good travels, Buenas Olaas!


Additional photos below
Photos: 20, Displayed: 20


Advertisement

Surf TripSurf Trip
Surf Trip

Me and Pete travelling on the back of truck to secret surfspots
Isla MujeresIsla Mujeres
Isla Mujeres

North Beach
Coco-Bongo nightclubCoco-Bongo nightclub
Coco-Bongo nightclub

Best night club ever!
Leaving IslaLeaving Isla
Leaving Isla

Sooo blue!


13th September 2008

hey!!
hey Bru's... pode parar de tirar fotos fazendo joia... eh MUITO feio!! faz um V ou um \m/ qlqr coisa!!! menos esse joiaaaaaaa no mais.. eu adorei esse blog do viajante!! e suas fotos tao lindasssss bjuss saudades se cuida!

Tot: 0.103s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0287s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb