Go Slow! Belize!


Advertisement
Belize's flag
Central America Caribbean » Belize
September 20th 2008
Published: September 29th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Perfect SunsetPerfect SunsetPerfect Sunset

Last one at The Split
After a crazy ride from the Belizean border to Belize City, I decided to move straigth to Caye Caulker when I realized that was nothing to do in Belize City! So I got the ferry to Caye Caulker and arrived in the evening. It is a really laid-back island, everybody is relaxed and all the local are rastafarian people, really nice! Actually there´s nothing special to do in the island than scuba diving, so I spent only 5 days there blowing my budget diving, but woth it ´cause was AMAZING! I did perfect dives in the local reef with turtles, sharks, sting rays, really beatifull! Belize as a country is really expensive, a beer is something like 5 dolars (in Mexico was 2 to 3 dolars) and you have to be carefull to don´t spend lot of money there! I stayed my first 2 nights in Miramar Hotel (it´s in Lonely Planet), it´s a OK hotel, private room, shared bath, 10 US, fair, but then I moved to Tina´s Backpackers, it´s the only backpacker option there, is really nice and there was a kitchen there when I cooked my dinner all days to save some money!
My first day I did
Going SnorkelingGoing SnorkelingGoing Snorkeling

Perfect tourquise waters
some snorkel in the local reef, was really nice, I saw some huuuuge barracudas (really scaring) and lots fo sting rays, really beatiful! Then I decided to dive, second day Long Caye Reef, third day Hot Chan Reef, 100 bucks each but worth it! Last day I went snorkeling again with my frineds in a full day tour, something like 40 dolars but rally nice, we went to 3 snorkel spots in a sail boat and in the way back the boat crew gave us soooo much drink that I arrived completly drunk in the Island! Really funny! Then I decided to leave Belize as soon was possible, I couldn´t stay more because of the money! So after 5 days in Caye Caulker, I left back to Belize City to maybe one of the craziests rides on this trip so far, bus to Benque Viejo del Carmen (Belizean/Guatemala border), then taxi to the border, then crossing the border walking, the taxi to bus station in Guatemala, the chiken bus to Flores! After 8 hours on the road I arrived in Flores, Guatemala, to the next country!


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



Tot: 0.114s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0442s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb