Luke's Visit. Volume 2


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Yucatán » Merida
April 9th 2008
Published: April 9th 2008
Edit Blog Post

So anyway, on Tuesday we woke up and got some bread from the bakery before grabbing the bus to UADY since I had two classes. We saw some of the people from my program, whom I introduced to Luke and went off to my boring classes while he heard about UADY from some of my classmates. After my class we went back downtown and ate at a high class vegetarian restaurant that's down there. We ended up switching meals because we each liked the other's better. Afterwards we went to the market and bought some really cheap fruit. We thought we'd try some of the native fruits, like Mamey and Zapote, but it turns out it's hard to find a ripe fruit that you don't know. Oh well. After that we took a little nap because it was really hot before we went out to get some dinner. I wanted Luke to try Panuchos, which are a traditional dish here that's a corn tortilla filled with beans, then fried and topped with lettuce, tomato, chicken and avocado. Anyway, we went to this place and ordered them without chicken and it turned out they had vegetarian ones so we ordered them. They were tasty. It was like stir fry on top of a tortilla. After that we sat in the S chairs in the park for a while before meeting some friends to go out. We went to a pub so we'd be able to sit a while even though half the people there don't drink. Luckily they have some tasty beverages there that aren't alcoholic. It's called the Mayan Pub and is really cute. I was a little surprised at first because there are signs all over the walls about how bad drugs are and how you can't do it there, but I understood a little later in the night when the place filled with marijuana smoke. Anyway, it was fun hanging out with my friends all together for the evening.
Wednesday we slept in a little bit (by that I mean 10) and had some breakfast. Luke had a papaya and I had a fruit tart. It was pretty tasty. Then we headed off to school for another of my classes. While I was in class Luke read in the library, and afterwards we went to eat at the vegetarian restaurant from the first day for 3 for 2 vegetarian hamburgers (Did I mention we saw my teacher there the first day? Apparently my Archaeology teacher is a vegetarian) Anyway, it was tasty. Then I took Luke to my park to get a Marquesita (tasty park food that's kind of like a very thin sugar cone filled with cheese) And then we went to see the movie Jumper. Bad move. It wasn't a good movie. It was like a quarter of a plot. Oh well. I also had Luke try Cristal Negra which is a banana flavored soda. I didn't tell him that beforehand because I wanted him to guess. He failed. Anyway it disgusting. Afterwards we went to an ice cream shop so Luke could try corn ice cream. He thought it would be tasty if it didn't have actual corn kernals in it.
Thursday we went to my classes again while Luke read. Well, he read during the first one and talked to Marcus during the second, which was only 30 minutes. After talking to Marcus some more we went back to my house for lunch. My house mom had made eggplant parmesan, white spaghetti, lentils and rice, and hummus and had sweets for dessert. It was really tasty and afterwards we basically didn't eat all day. It was also cool that Luke could hang out with my superawesome host parents for a while. After hanging with them we went back to the centro and took a nap (we were really tired) and then later went to a festival of Yucatecan music and dancing. It was pretty cool. We saw some cool dancing and a totally shameless song about Yucatan. The lyrics were something like "When you go back to your home after visiting here, don't forget to tell them about our beautiful streets and women and colonial houses. And don't forget to tell them about our beaches and ruins and our really nice people" on and on for about three minutes. It was craziness. Aftrewards we went and got some more panuchos and then slept because we had to get up early Friday morning to go on the Ruta Puuc, which is a set of five mayan sites in the Puuc architectural style that you go around in a bus for half an hour for the first four small sites and two hours at Uxmal, the big site I'd already been to. So we got up early to go went to each of the sites which were all fun and lovely. At one of them there were nondescript citrus fruits lying beneath a tree and since the skin was still intact we decided to peel it and eat it. Bad move. It turned out to be a sour orange, which is a citrus fruit they use here for cooking, but not eating because it's REALLY sour. Pity. That would have been nice. Luke enjoyed the sites and enjoyed having me as a tour guide because I kinda know a few things.
So after the trip we changed hotels to a nicer one that had a jacuzzi and went out to a really nice romantic dinner at this place that had a garden and was beautiful and we were the only people there, so it was like a private little garden for just us. Afterwards we went back to our hotel and attempted to use the jacuzzi, but unfortunately the water was only 80 degrees, so it was hardly as lovely and relaxing as it should have been. Oh well.
Saturday was really sad. We got up really early and got on an 8 am bus to Cancun, which takes a long time. Once we got to the bus station in Cancun, we bought our ticket to the airport, ate some lunch, went to the aiport, checked Luke in and then separated. I was crying. He was not. Then I got back on the bus and came back to Merida. Exciting, no?



Advertisement



9th April 2008

Adventurous
Glad you are getting around and seeing tings, experiencing. I could not try all those different foods.

Tot: 0.117s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0418s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb