Luke´s visit


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Yucatán » Merida
April 8th 2008
Published: April 8th 2008
Edit Blog Post

OK, so last Sunday I left my house at five am so I could take a 6 am bus to Cancun. It wasn´t the most exciting thing ever, you know, just a four and a half hour bus ride followed by a half hour one to the airport, but I was excited. When I got to the airport, Luke had already been waiting for fourty-five minutes (oops... I guess I should have taken the five am bus...), but the whole place was full of tour guides with their signs waiting for people, and when we saw each other we kissed, and everyone started wooing and clapping. It was awesome. Then we got right back on the bus I had just gotten off of and returned to the lovely bus station in Cancun, where we bought second class bus tickets to Chichen Itza because there weren´t first class ones. Too bad. The bus ride that SHOULD have taken less than three hours took four and a half. This is because the first class bus takes a toll road that´s more direct, and the second class doesn´t PLUS it stops all along the road whenever someone wants it to. What sucks even more is that the second class bus, unlike the first class bus, has no bathroom. Anyway, we finally got to Chichen after it was closed (we already knew we would) and walked to Pisté, the town closest to Chichen (only like a kilometer and a half away) and found the cheapest hotel we could (24 dollars. It was originally 300, but I asked for a cheaper room and she said she didn´t have one so she dropped the price. Sweet!) Anyway, it was a cute little room, kinda like a penthouse. The hotel was obviously what used to be their house and the husband was working on building it into a hotel. So our room was the only one on the second floor, and had a little patio and a place to hang my hammock. It was really cute. Plus the lady was SUPER nice. Anyway, so we went out on the town of Pisté! (I say this because it´s hilarious if you know Pisté. It´s the tiniest little town. REALLY. We had some pizza and then found the central square (not hard, given the size of Pisté). On the way we passed a bar where lots of people were very drunk. The weather was really nice so we sat in the square for a little while before heading back to the hotel to get some shut-eye before we went to Chichen the next morning. He loved it. I had already seen it before, but loved it anyway. What´s odd though, is that this time you weren´t allowed to get near ANY of the buildings. Last time I went you could climb on some of them, like the observatory, but this time there were ropes around absolutely everything to the point where you couldn´t even read some of the plaques because they were behind the ropes. Anyway, when we were done with the site we headed back to Pisté for some food. We ate at a little restaurant that was full the day before and had some tasty enchiladas. Some other guys at a different table asked us why we weren´t drinking beer and we said it was because it was hot out. They said, "but the beer is cold" and then I said I didn´t want to drink it because it dehydrates you and they were shocked at the idea that alchohol might dehydrate you. Oh" the say before I had the most textbook conversation with this guy I was buying water from.
Me: I´d like some water please
Him: I have water. I have water to get rid of thirst.
Me: Well, I´m thirsty.
Him: I also have water to help with the heat.
Me: Well, there is a lot of heat.
Him: Good. Drink your water to get rid of your heat and thirst.
Me: I will. Thank you.
Anyway, then we went back to the hotel, but since we´d already checked out we couldn´t go back to the room so we sat in some chairs, but the lady came and since she´s really nice she let us go upstairs and sleep in some hammocks that were there before we went and got our bus to Mérida. Once we got to Mérida, we checked into our hotel and went out to the vicinity of my house to have dinner at a tasty vegetarian restaurant and then went home for a bit to get some stuff, and we ended up chatting with my host family for a couple hours since they love to talk. Then we went back to our hotel.
I´m too tired to finish the week now. The thrilling conclusion to Luke´s trip will arrive within five days.

Advertisement



8th April 2008

Hammocks?
What's with the hammocks? What the place has poles in the room at different distances apart depending on the size of hammock you brought?
8th April 2008

Maybe they roped off all the sites because they knew Luke was coming.
9th April 2008

Hammocks and Luke
There are hooks in the wall that you hang it to. Since most Yucatecans sleep in Hammocks every night, they have them in their houses. You're probably right Lizzy. They didn't want Luke's smelliness to ruin the monuments.
9th April 2008

It seems all you do is eat.

Tot: 0.119s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0432s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb