A weekend of water


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Yucatán » Merida
April 28th 2008
Published: April 28th 2008
Edit Blog Post

So on Friday I didn´t have class (Student´s day or something), so my teacher took us scuba diving (finally) inside a cenote. So we´re supposed to meet Memo at 8, but he doesn´t show up until 8:40. We weren´t really surprised, cause he´s always late, just more annoyed. Anyway, We drove for like an hour and a half to this town where he started driving all over the town looking for someone to lend him a pulley (seriously. Couldn´t he just own a pulley?) Anyway, after like an hour of that we got to the cenote and started getting ready. The cenote was basically a hole in the ground with a huge cave and water at the bottom. So we climbed down a super rickety old ladder (one of the rungs was out) and got into the water, whch didn´t really have a good place to stand and waited for them to lower our stuff on the pulley. So then we got to dive! Yay! First we just sort of floated around a little in the shallow water, and then started going down into the deep cavey side. My left ear hurt at first (you´re supposed to pop them to keep that from happening, which I was doing, but didn´t realize that for some reason I just have to blow longer to get my left ear, weird...) Anyway, we swam around a while. Memo was the only one who had a light, but since there was a hole in the roof we could see mostly. Off in a random corner there were some cow bones. Who knows how they got there. There was also some pottery. Anyway, we kept floating around to see stuff and he decided we were doing so well that he´d take us into the cave which he hadn´t planned on doing. So we went in, but it was really dark so we had to just watch Memo´s flashlight as he pointed stuff out. One thing that´s really cool is that because we were breathing air would get stuck to the top of the cave, and oddly enough, air trapped under water looks just like a puddle of water. Weird! At least in the dark wth a flashlight. Or maybe an oil puddle, except not rainbowy. anyway, it was really cool and we ended up being under there for 48 minutes total. Awesome! Yay!
And on my way home I made an appointment to get a massage on Tuesday. Sweet!
Anyway, so then on Saturday we went to some cenotes called Cuzama, and you ride a horse drawn train carriage around from one to the other. They were really pretty, and the water was SOOO blue and clear. They were like 30 meters deep, but you could still see the bottom. And the water was so blue it looked like blue koolaid. After coming home I spent the day knitting and then went to sleep. I woke up this morning looking forward to talking to Luke tonight, but I didn´t know what time it would be, so I called him up to ask. He said that there would be a problem with that and that he couldn´t tell me but that I needed to check my email. I asked him to please tell me and he said no, so I checked my email. He broke up with me by email and I gave him the perfect opportunity to tell me in person first. I think that´s just terrible. There have been times that I have felt like breaking up with him, but couldn´t contact him, so I waited until we could talk to DISCUSS things with him in an adult and mature manner. He, however, decided the most mature thing to do would be to send me an email and tell me that we should have a mature conversation about this on Wednesday, May 7th, because I obviously need an appointment to talk to him. I told him that we won´t talk, because he lost his opportunity for a mature conversation by being so immature as to break up with me by email. There is NEVER an excuse for that. So i cried some (hense being part of the water weekend), but mostly now I´m just angry at him. Us breaking up is, afterall, probably for the best. I´d been kind of thinking about breaking up with him lately, but I had the decency to decide to wait until we got back together to see how things work out when we´re actually TOGETHER, which he should have too, since most of the reasons he gave to break up with me had to do with problems that occured at least a semester ago. It also seems like nothing spurred it. He had just bought a new phone plan so he could text me more, and then three days later dumped me. If he had broken up with me in person, maybe we could have been friends, but now, I just don´t think that will happen.

Advertisement



28th April 2008

Maturity is one sided
I am glad that I raised a wonderful, mature, kind, sweet, beautiful, smart, fantastic girl. I am very proud. I love you.
28th April 2008

Your scuba diving adventure sounds awesome! And Luke's an asshole!

Tot: 0.161s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0825s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb