Back in Merida now!


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Yucatán » Merida
May 10th 2007
Published: May 10th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Valladolid hotelValladolid hotelValladolid hotel

This is about 6:30 am waiting to go to the plant. Also waiting for coffee. Wouldn't even seat you in the restraurant (which is outdoors) til 7 am!!
Returned from Valladolid this afternoon and glad to get back. It's hot there!
And we were working 11 and 12 hr days so the hotel restraurant with cold beers
(only til 10 mind you) was all I got to do. I can suck down a lot of SOLs between
7:30 pm and 10:00 pm !

I took a couple of pictures of the hotel with the new cheap digital and either it has
suntan oil from a time when I opened the package or it's just out of focus, but
nevertheless I'll attach some pics. No, Mitch, I am NOT spending big bucks for
a real digital til I can manage a throwaway!

Little info: You cannot sell beer/liquor before 11 am (no hard liquor at all on
Sundays), and cannot sell it except in certain clubs after 10 pm. After the first
night in Valladolid when I'd thought I'd die of heat in the warehouse and tried
to drink all the beer they had at the hotel, the waitstaff knew to send two bottles
of beer to my room before the 10 pm cutoff. And don't open 'em because I had
my own bottle opener.

Hey,
Valladolid hotel 2Valladolid hotel 2Valladolid hotel 2

In restraurant. Sign translates that the birds are now on their site, meaning they are free, thus cages are empty. Cool, huh?
gang, VERY limited internet and cell outside of Merida, no clocks hardly
anywhere in the Yucatan, but at the Valladolid hotel, no ice machine, no anything.
My a/c turned on with the breaker !! Check in lady was a witch but all the staff
were great! And I guess one reason that they close at 10 is that the same
staff is back on duty at 7 am - but not before !!

Work will be intense the next couple of weeks due to a deadline, but keep
emailing me and I'll get back with y'all in the evenings.

I took a couple of pics of the living room when I came home today too. I tried
to change the orientation of the pics, but they simply won't. Rearrange them
yourselves or turn your heads like I do !!

Love to all.

Patt


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

More of the hotelMore of the hotel
More of the hotel

This is a shot from the table Roberto, Luis and I had all week.
Hotel by the pool shotHotel by the pool shot
Hotel by the pool shot

Not that it was ever open when I was off work..........
Hotel pool shot Hotel pool shot
Hotel pool shot

This is one of those 6 am ish shots
Shot of the living roomShot of the living room
Shot of the living room

Pics make it look smaller than it actually is.


Tot: 0.281s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0886s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb