Update from Merida


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Yucatán » Merida
May 16th 2007
Published: May 16th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Work is progressing nicely. Have had many lovely telephone calls this week and love hearing from y'all.

Speaking of the calls. Verizon couldn't satisfy my questions about an international plan before I left Texas in March (but then everything was so hurried) that I left my plan as is and will just pay the roaming charges. Well, after 8 weeks here, I guess they said, Hey, she's in Mexico, so now my message center is in Spanish and I can't get to voice mail. So, be sure your number will show up as a missed call and not as unknown if you want me to call back. Sorry you three unknowns that called today. But the other loves that did this afternoon, thanks.

It has finally rained here every day this week. For about an hour and not hard. Of course this place is based in limestone so no standing water. Just cools off a little, though it's not really hot with a good 10 mph wind all the time and only 20 minutes from the coast. And for those that worry about hurricanes here (hello love), a lot of the buildings in this town have been here since 1400 and we're 39 feet above sea level. Can't say that about Mauriceville!

Speaking of Mauriceville! My Project Manager, Maurine, (say YEAH here) is directing structures torn down, hauled off and beautified so I'll enjoy going back (if only to visit) (Kidding, Maurine).

I went to Mambo Cafe last weekend (google it) and it was so cool. Big club. I can salsa and other dances but made me want to learn (hello!) pole dancing! The music, I mean. I WILL go to that club again. It ain't Alibi's !

This Friday I have plans to go to Chelem just to the west of Progreso to the Sand Castle Inn Bed and Breakfast. They have a Social Club night out! American owned and apparently Americans go to the Social so it should be fun. At least there should be a place to park, it's out of the capital of Merida!

There's a real marina just a mile or so away so it could be a long weekend! I want to find a place to have a fishing buddy anyway. I will probably have to spend the next couple of weekends working on my project so I need to take R&R now.

Apparently the elections are to be held this Sunday (yes, Sunday). I'll be glad when they take all the campaign banners out of this beautiful city! BUT, there's to be no sale of alcohol of any kind past Friday. (Why? We get drunk and elect the wrong people? Who are the right people when we're sober????). So, if I'm slow answering email in the next day or so, it's because I'm 1) stocking up and standing in the long lines here or 2) have stocked up, everything's in the Dodge Attitude and I'm again hopelessly lost or 3) I'm drinking what I bought to stock up!

Enjoy the rest of the week and the weekend. I'll catch up with y'all here sometime next week, maybe with picture, maybe not 😊.

Love to all,
Patt

Advertisement



17th May 2007

Now Patt, leave the " POLE DANCIN" alone. hahahaha
18th May 2007

Patt -- I thoroughly enjoy your adventures in Mexico! If you ever do come back to the Beaumont area, I'll come over and meet you guys for lunch. I do miss seeing you guys.
19th May 2007

Jeane!!
I'll cook ! Y'all come here! Miss y'all too!

Tot: 0.288s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 52; dbt: 0.1049s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb