Catch up time!


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Yucatán » Merida
April 13th 2007
Published: April 13th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Yesterday I took the afternoon off to explore (a little). What an ego builder for me. I drove to the mall (found it, found my way through it, found my way away from it) then went to the DHL office many miles away. Getting the hang of driving here.

Let me tell you about the mall although I can't tell you the name of it. Actually it was only about 2 blocks from the office and I'm told it's one of the largest malls in Mexico. Supposedly the Galleria (as in Houston) is to build a mall here in Merida soon also. This mall was just like in the states. Big stores, little store, vendors in the middle, little pricey. Otherwise, nicest dressed people! No slouches anywhere.

DHL: No English but we're best friends now. Poor Nancy is getting an envelope full of things to drop in her mailbox for me simply because I wanted her to get her birthday card (late) first! Thanks, Nanc! And one of the mailings is a $500 check to Verizon and hoping that will keep it on after these roaming charges...

Driving: Mexico probably invented prayer. Speed limits have no clout here. No do marked driving lanes. And if you see someone selling something on the street, hey, just stop! Even double park if you think you need it. And this is on the BIG avenue! I do love the traffic lights. When green, they blink 3 times before turning yellow. Such a help. I'm getting pretty good - and fast - at making U-turns which are a big deal here. You ought to see me zip!

Streets: The tour books say that even numbered streets run north and south and that the odd ones are east and west. Pretty simple. What they don't tell you (or don't know) is that they sometimes reuse these street numbers within a 10 mile area and they have absolutely no connection to one another. And why did I get sooooo lost that day??? Also the streets don't run exactly straight. I had my forehead pressed to the windshield when at an intersection trying to see what's coming. Others are halfway out in the street and sitting up straight in their seats... Much honking around here. It's a wonder I don't pass out from holding my breath!

Okay. Enough for tonight. This should give y'all something to laugh at for now.

Miss y'all and still can't believe I upped and did this.

See you soon. Will know flight info for weekend home in a day or so.

Patt

Advertisement



Tot: 0.036s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 6; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0209s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1001.3kb