No Pain, No Gain


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Quintana Roo » Puerto Aventuras
December 12th 2013
Published: December 13th 2013
Edit Blog Post

'Woke up around 5am this day and started writing/typing my blogs.. compiling notes and uploading all photos from the last few days. Yesterday, Nina and I agreed to wake up early(630am), have breakfast, workout , then catch a ride to Xplor(a nearby amusement that involves a lot of awesome outdoor activities that are both dynamic and very engaging.. such as zip-lining, rappelling, driving an ATV through the jungle, etc. So at 630am, I started trying to wake Nina up.. no surprise there lol. At 645am, I tried again.. and again, no success. 715, 730, 8, and finally I gave up trying lol. 'Seems yesterday's physical activities really took a toll on her body.. she was very sore, 'like never I've seen before. Our elliptical session, her weights session, and our unplanned water aerobics+dance lesson did her in, apparently.

Finally at 1030am, she decided it was time.. good thing, because I was starvin' Marvin! My appetite was huge by this time, especially because Las Brisas was just next door and I was smellin' the good food for the last few hours lol. Sadly, when we got to the restaurant, breakfast had ended 😞she snoozed, I lost lol).. so we ended up
DolphineumDolphineumDolphineum

Swimming with dolphins
walking over to Bamboleo for lunch instead, oh well 😊

After lunch, we walked to our resort's front lobby area thinking we were going to book our tour of Xplor for another day, but in the end, we decided against it. Instead, we opted for a tour of Tulum and the Mayan jungle that will be lead by an eco-conscious tour company called "Alltournative". Similar activities as Xplor, except it's a private tour with only 12 people. We will be visiting the Tulum ruins, zip-lining, rappelling, swimming in a cenote'(after experiencing a Mayan cleansing ritual), walking through the Mayan jungle, and snorkeling in the longest underground river in the world, Nohoch. 'Very exciting. :D

We decided to leave the comforts of our resort and we ventured out to explore Puerto Aventuras, this private gated community where our resort(and several others) is located. We stumbled upon Dolphin Discovery and was treated to sightings of awesome dolphins. They were performing for people who were paying top dollar to have photos taken with them.

We walked back to our hotel after buying some insect repellent(for our upcoming jungle tour). As soon as we got back, we realized we were thirsty
so we stopped at The Tequila Bar.. lol. Dos tequila por mi y una Banana Mama por mi esposa, por favor! Haha! We walked on the beach to a nice spot and relaxed. Nina slept a bit while I tried kayaking through the surf and swam in the sea afterwards.. as Phil Robertson always says, "Happay happay happay" :D (by the way, Nina and I love watching Duck Dynasty now lol)

For dinner, we went to Bellavista.. an Italian restaurant next door(we're surrounded by all the good restaurants lol). It was pretty fancy, this place.. and the food, mm mmm mmmM! 'Was quite amazing.(check out photos below.. not great photos, but better than nothing😊 For appetizers, we had Caprese salad and Minestrone. For entrees.. I had the Pollo alla Toscana and Nina had Lasagna alla Bolognesa. For desserts, I had the best Tiramisu EVER.. and Nina, I don't remember what it was called lol.

We took a little nap after dinner and went to La Creperie for round two of desserts!! lol. I had delicious crepes and Nina had ice cream. (Man, I've got some serious paddling and cardio to do when I get back home lol)


Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement


Before I die..Before I die..
Before I die..

A chalkboard in the streets of Puerto Aventuras

FlopFlop
Flop

And I'm gone, 'drinking some saltwater lol
AlcoholicsAlcoholics
Alcoholics

Banana Mama y Coco Loco
YummYumm
Yumm

I found a new favorite frozen cocktail.. Coco Loco :)

BuenisimaBuenisima
Buenisima

This ain't no Chef Boyardee, that's for sure.. her Lasagna was to die for.
SweetsSweets
Sweets

Can you say, "EXTRA CALORIES"?
TiramisuTiramisu
Tiramisu

Best.. EVER.


13th December 2013

Drinks?
HA! Try the Blue Hawaiian! It's my favorite!
13th December 2013

Blue Hawaiian
Nina tried it and she liked it! :)
13th December 2013

Hi guys! It looks like you\'re having a blast down there. Your entries are so funny and I love the pics, bro! We wanted to go to Tulum but missed it when we were down there. It sounds amazing all of things you\'re going to do. Can\'t wait to see the pics!

Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0403s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb