Good Times in the Sun!


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Quintana Roo » Playa del Carmen
November 20th 2011
Published: November 20th 2011
Edit Blog Post

"A journey is best measured in friends, rather than in miles." ~

Well here we are again, how are you guys??? My buddy Danielle has been fighting a major chest cold, so sadly I had the pleasure of my own company yesterday. We got to know each other quite well 😉

I woke up very early, threw on my sundress and off I went for a mile walk on the beach. The music was playing from the cafes, and people were drinking Coronas at 9 am. You may not believe this, but I don't have that type of constitution (despite the Irish in me!). I have to wait till er...at least 10 am to have a margarita. 😉

I ended up at the ferry dock watching the line-ups to take the massive ferry to Cozumel. Sheesh when they blow the boat horn you dang near jump right out of your shorts. It's a huge ship, I believe it holds 300 people and it looks very luxurious. We are talking an international place here, so people don't come here to be roughing it. It's funny to see the line-ups at the beer machine!! Yep, put your pesos in and out pops a Corona. Is this the life or what? Al would love one of those next to the couch at home.

I stopped to chat with the "fruit ladies" who have fresh fruit stands near the ferry where the crush of the public comes through. They are out bright and early with big carts full of fresh fruit of every kind for sale chopped up in cups. They design the fruit so it looks extra appealing. Pineapple, mango, watermelon, beautiful preparation.

While chatting with them in their limited English & my limited Spanish, they warned me that "a major storm is brewing". Storm? What are they talkin' about? It was so sunny and hot and not a cloud in the sky. No, they said you'd better reach cover. So I took my fruit cup and skedaddled down the beach. And so there I was laughing to myself, it was so sunny still, clearly I can read the weather here, hello?! However, I am telling you, within a few minutes, it went from totally sunny to a huge burst of clouds over the ocean to a full on thunder storm and heavy rain. So I stopped under a palapa at Luna del Mar, an oceanfront hotel and cafe. The waiter "twisted" my arm to have a large margarita which I took hesitantly (OK, no I didn't hesitate but it was 10:30 am-noon somewhere?) So I sat there, out of the rain, chatting with the bartender, while enjoying some tunes and the rain show over the ocean. Amazing.

So those fruit ladies called it right. It's like my dad, or my uncle Dominic & uncle Stanley; they can tell the weather days in advance. These women I suspect have Mayan genes, great predictors, and maybe it was the change in wind, maybe it was a whisper but somehow they knew what was coming on the brightest, sunniest day. I'm going to go see them tomorrow and ask about the stock market!!

After the storm, and one big empty margarita glass, I headed for a massage on the beach. I got "Carmelo" and she wiped the floor with me. I got up off the table feeling like gumby...I have no idea if it was the combination of fruit, margarita and the massage cause I didn't know if I should wind my butt or scratch my watch!! I finally managed to wind my watch, and headed to Blue Parrot with Danielle for lunch. We saw my buddy Armando, and strangely enough he said "the usual Sally"? Good Lord, they know my name and my drink choice! He claims also he "remembers me from last year" Cynically I say, "well you probably say that to everyone", and he replied, "you were staying at Porto Playa Condos and had 3 kids with you." That's what you get for being a regular, and more likely a good tipper!!!

The weather was quite iffy yesterday, the beach had the red flags up, so we just hung around on our balcony, wining, whining (hahaha) and dining.

We headed out for dinner to a Spanish restaurant and once again had a seafood platter. Grilled lobster, coconut shrimp and breaded butterflied shrimp, shrimp fettuccine alfredo. OMG, it was superb. Very reasonable, including 2for1 drinks that seemed to keep coming and coming...One Tequila, two Tequila, three Tequila, FLOOR.

We saw the "bird" man show up in full costume and gear. He's an impressive sight and when he spreads his wings, watch out. The effort that takes to dress up in this costume in the heat and humidity...well I take my hat, off to him. Danielle took my picture with him and he put on quite a show!

Walking home we found this hidden walkway, soft candles & lighting, and it was this hidden world of high-end shops and this fabulous Italian restaurant called Casa Mediterranean. We had a glass of wine there and chatted with the owners. The owner Marie, had just returned from a trip to Quebec City. We have reservations for dinner Sunday night. Fresh homemade pasta is on the menu for us.

This is not a trip where I am doing any exploring this time. As much as I want to take a trip over to Akumal and swim with the sea turtles, take the ferry to Cozumel and snorkel the barrier reef, or zip line over the jungle canopy, it's not going to happen this time. This is a "girlfriend" trip with lots of R&R with smaller adventures.

So you'll be stuck reading my rather bland boring blogs if you choose! (are you choosing? Is anyone out there???)

Every day Danielle and I have some issue or crazy thing that happens, and so we're calling this the "Thelma and Louise" trip. If you haven't ever seen Thelma and Louise, where Brad Pitt makes his first major screen appearance, you must watch it.

Signing off from the Blue Parrot on Domingo (Sunday) while enjoying a wonderful oceanside breakfast...(no margaritas....YET)

PS as usual, don't forget more pics are at bottom. I have lots of pics but my laptop is not co-operating. Or maybe it's the owner...

Sal

Why do we love the sea? It is because it has some potent power to make us think things we like to think. ~


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement



20th November 2011
The Birdman and me!

Saturday in Playa
I like the picture of you and the Bird Man. I'd like a copy if you don't mind. Ray

Tot: 0.09s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0365s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb