Motherhood and a trip by myself...


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Quintana Roo » Playa del Carmen
November 20th 2011
Published: November 20th 2011
Edit Blog Post

MotherhoodMotherhoodMotherhood

A recent pic of our gals
“When a child is locked in the bathroom with water running and he says he's doing nothing but the dog is barking...call 911. ” ― Erma Bombeck

I remember my mom had a book on motherhood by Erma Bombeck. I read it as a kid in the 70's before I really could understand what it was all about, but it resonated with me, and more so as I become a Mom. I realize now how important it is to have a sense of humor when raising children. Motherhood is NOT for the faint of heart that's for sure. Anyone that thinks that labor is over after the baby's born I say HA. The labor is just beginning. I may be thousands of miles away, but I have been hearing "mom, mom, MOM" around the pool here and I turn expecting it to be my child and yell "WHAT"???? Then I realize I'm not their mom and all is well with the world again...

There are 3 ways to get something done. The first is to "Ask mom, and the other two I can't remember, so I'm going to ask mom" 😊

This is my first trip away from my girls in 12 years, well to be honest EVER and I miss them greatly. Lara is 12, Rory is 10, & Ava is 6. Being the fabulous kids they are, they sent me off on this trip with smiles and kisses, and "go have a great time mom". It was greatly appreciated that's for sure and cheerios to my fab hubby for all his support. :}

I believe the government should mandate that every mother gets one trip alone every year; go away with their husband, best friend, heck even a stranger (smile) to rejuvenate and have time to think about life in general or just contemplate your navel if that's what you want to do. Call it a "trip vaccination"; necessary for the overall good mental health of mothers. Not having to try and find missing lids for Tupperware, make healthy meals, do laundry, spit on your thumb to fix that "cow lick" your kid's sporting or initial their homework while herding them out the door while you throw on your shoes while juggling a coffee.

For me (and my hubby Al will laugh) to get to lie in a big king-sized bed alone with my books spread out, my laptop, iPod, chocolate bar wrappers and not sleep with one ear on alert for the kids is blissful. Space, my own space.

I will admit we've adopted the housekeeper's grand-daughter. She is 10 and LOVES the mini Halloween chocolate bars I stuck in my suitcase. Despite my limited Spanish and the fact she knows no English at all, we chatted away with her, gesturing while she swung her legs on the bar stool in the kitchen. Danielle did her hair in braids and she was thrilled. Just gave me that "mommy fix" for the day & then off to the races!

This isn't my normal blog, it's for all the moms (especially single moms) out there that I've been thinking of while I so enjoy this vacation. Trust me, I don't take for granted this wonderful opportunity I've been given.

And to all the great dads (Al), grandmas (Nanna), aunts (Martha & Cindy), and friends (Susan & Linda) and Tonya Sarina (condo) who have all helped make it possible for little old me to take this trip I thank you. And for Danielle clearing her schedule to come along. Gracias. And to anyone out there who made it possible for any mom to go on a vacation, god bless you! (Trust me, some kid out there thanks you too that MOM got a vacation!)

"When God Created Moms..."

When the Good Lord was creating mothers, He was into His sixth day of "overtime" when the angel appeared and said. "You're doing a lot of fiddling around on this one."

And God said, "Have you read the specs on this order?" She has to be completely washable, but not plastic. Have 180 moveable parts...all replaceable. Run on black coffee and leftovers. Have a lap that disappears when she stands up. A kiss that can cure anything from a broken leg to a disappointed love affair. And six pairs of hands."

The angel shook her head slowly and said. "Six pairs of hands.... no way." It's not the hands that are causing me problems," God remarked, "it's the three pairs of eyes that mothers have to have."

That's on the standard model?" asked the angel. God nodded.

One pair that sees through closed doors when she asks, 'What are you kids doing in there?' when she already knows. Another here in the back of her head that sees what she shouldn't but what she has to know, and of course the ones here in front that can look at a child when he goofs up and say. 'I understand and I love you' without so much as uttering a word."

God," said the angel touching his sleeve gently, "Get some rest tomorrow...."

I can't," said God, "I'm so close to creating something so close to myself. Already I have one who heals herself when she is sick...can feed a family of six on one pound of hamburger...and can get a nine year old to stand under a shower."

The angel circled the model of a mother very slowly. "It's too soft," she sighed.

But tough!" said God excitedly. "You can imagine what this mother can do or endure."

Can it think?"

Not only can it think, but it can reason and compromise," said the Creator.

Finally, the angel bent over and ran her finger across the cheek.

There's a leak," she pronounced. "I told You that You were trying to put too much into this model."

It's not a leak," said the Lord, "It's a tear."

What's it for?"

It's for joy, sadness, disappointment, pain, loneliness, and pride."

You are a genius, " said the angel.

Somberly, God said, "I didn't put it there.” ~

"When God Created Mothers" E. Bombeck

Advertisement



20th November 2011

Glad you are enjoying yourself
Just sitting here on a gloomy November morning, sure brightened the day to read your blog, Sal.
20th November 2011

Hey Shawn! I will say it's warm here, not gloomy but very windy...I just saw a toddler fly by the bar!!Any day in Playa del Carmen is a good day, even gloomy ones!!! ;) Good to hear from you!!
20th November 2011

Comment on Motherhood and a trip by myself...
I think this blog deserves a place in your Tonya condo marketing site. Maybe you could promote mothers to band together for a Playa break. Just a thought. By the way, are you getting into any kitchens for some journalistic time with some chefs? Enjoy your day, Ray
20th November 2011

Well I guess I just gave myself a week off writing the next blog!! I can re-use my own material. No copyright infringement!! Thanks for your comments Ray and Pat
21st November 2011

Very interesting Sal!!
I am realy enjoying your blogs... almost as good as being there. XO
21st November 2011

Thanks mom! You will be here soon...trust me! Hope all is well.xo

Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 7; qc: 22; dbt: 0.0413s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb