Another day in Paradise...shucks hard to take!


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Quintana Roo » Playa del Carmen
November 18th 2011
Published: November 19th 2011
Edit Blog Post

"Some friends come and go like a season. Others are arranged in our lives for a good reason." ~

After rising early yesterday I was off to Mega, THE grocery store here in Playa I love. What a place; fresh food to go, marinated pulled pork, chicken wrapped in banana leaves with pineapple, guacamole & tortillas made as you wait. They get fresh fish off the boat and it's on ice by 9 am...impressive. Oh and then there's the liquor section 😊. They carry everything with alcholo you can imagine & I expect a few items you've never imagined! One stop shopping is my cup of tequila!

The bakery is huge; OMG pig heaven! Every doughnut, every stuffed croissant, and freshly baked bread, baked buns, baked gooey sugary items that all end in sheer pleasure! And I don't even have a sweet tooth and I'm raving! So, because this is a very busy big grocery store, in the bakery you grab a big cafeteria type tray, fill it, the it is packaged up in the bakery section and then you pay for it with the rest of your groceries in line. The locals are buying these fresh buns 20 at a time so I'm thinking I'd do what the locals do, and grab some fresh baked items; they apparently are onto something very good here!

While in the bakery, I got a marriage proposal. HA! Yes I did... This swarthy Mexican lad approached me, told me his name (Juan) & pointed out his "ninos" (children) and pointed to his ring finger asking if I was a "married"...before I could reply he said "you look like good wife". I laughed out loud thinking what would Al say to that...good wife? By the time I pointed to my beautiful wedding rings, he was off to another woman. Honestly my feelings weren't hurt at all (the old &%$# bugger)!!

After my love-in at the grocery store (that's what happens when you love food), Danielle & I headed to the infamous Blue Parrot bar at the ocean for mega margaritas. Whewie, they were good, and Danielle and I kept smirking over these huge marg glasses thanking ourselves for the good smarts to book this get-away together. After we headed back to our condo and then I made a cheese & deli platter to take to our loungers. From the looks our guests were giving my very good-looking cheese platter, I'm figuring I could've sold it for about $30! My new job...wine and cheese served beachfront in Playa!

Danielle got a 'yabba dabba doo' massage from Carlos who gave mom THE best massages this past winter on our last trip here. Swaying palm trees, ocean waves, soft music, I think you can't beat a massage anywhere else...

Last night we had a FANTASTIC seafood platter at an Italian Bistro in the section of Playa known as "Little Italy". Grilled lobster tails, garlic shrimp, tilapia fish in a white wine sauce, seared tuna, fresh salad, roasted potatoes...Perfection on a plate. It was huge but we did our best to put a dent in it. Food is my passion, from cooking it, to entertaining, it is a passion of mine.

We saw an artist use only aerosol paint cans to create pictures of Mayan ruins, sunsets, oceans, you name it. He was doing a Mayan ruin when we walked up, so I bid to buy it...I am totally impressed with his ability to look at a blank page & then create pieces of art with aerosol paint cans. Sheesh, the most I use aerosol cans for is to hold my hair in place! (This is again probably a very unsafe practice of aerosols, but people need to make a living & I am seeing them since this blog wearing masks.)

We finished the night dancing to a Latin band at Fusion next door to our condo. It's an oceanfront bar lit with red lanterns on all the tables & a place you can dig your toes in the sand and relax the heck out of yourself! At 11 pm this amazing Mayan fire show started and totally captivated us. It was our second amazing day here ...(oh and we "had it out" with a very high-end expensive bar on 5th avenue about the uncleaned state of their bathroom conditions. You don't see that very often on 5th avenue when they charge the prices they do. Let's just say the waiter got a tip but the bar was out 2 glasses of wine for not following up with our complaint. No excuse for that.

PS don't forget to arrow down to bottom for more pics!

Sal's Big Adventure continues...
"When life hands you lemons, grab the salt & Tequila and call me..." 😉


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement



23rd November 2011

Good timing ladies
We woke up to 10cm-ish of snow this morning!!! Keidon was impressed! These pictures are making me hungry! Have fun and give Charlie a high-five for me!
23rd November 2011

Hey James, no snow here, just lots of white sandy beach...very hot today, sparkling blue ocean and funny enough, sparkling champagne & orange juice on the beach...This is SO hard to take! Won't be so funny when we step off the plane! I'll pass your message on to your mom about Keidon! Cutie pie (Keidon, not you!!!)

Tot: 0.056s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 7; qc: 22; dbt: 0.0271s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb