Girl's Trip- Our 1st official day!


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Quintana Roo » Playa del Carmen
November 18th 2011
Published: November 18th 2011
Edit Blog Post

"May your joys be as deep as the ocean, your sorrows as light as its foam.” ~

Awoke this morning at 5:30 am to the sound of crashing waves. Oh how I missed you ocean 😉 It was dark but light enough to see huge clouds hanging over the ocean lifting up slowly. At 6:30 am the sun was out, and it's quite humid already. There was one lone guy sipping coffee as the sun came up and he too was having a date with the shore. We are in THE perfect location, oceanfront, white sand, magnificent views and a beautiful condo. All of us has an idea of what constitutes "heaven", and I assure you, this is what it seems like to me. Mother Nature showing off her glories.

This condo complex, as promised by Tonya, is fabulous and 8 letters is not enough to describe it in one word. Three bedrooms, 2 large marble bathrooms, chef's kitchen, spacious balcony overlooking the infinity pool & a perfect view of the ocean. My king size bedroom has sliding doors to the balcony and it's a treat to open up the doors wide and feel the ocean's presence. The staff can't do enough for you, and it's so clean, spotless and luxurious that you have to shake yourself to see if you are dreaming. Danielle & I are giddily thrilled!

Upon our arrival yesterday, our courteous driver Jonny allowed us to stop at Sam's Club (carbon copy of Costco) to get a few groceries. I realized unless we're buying for a family of 10 we were in the wrong place.. I had meant to tell him Walmart, but for some reason, I mixed it up and said Sam's Club. Johnny being the professional driver he is, just nodded but I am sure he was thinking, "What the hell do two women need to buy in bulk for a week in Playa"?

After that waste of time, we stopped at this store, Sorianya's which is a big international grocery store that carries all types of foods, including local & imported cheeses, deli meats, olives, and and wine along with every grocery item in between. We picked up some wonderful Italian prosciutto ham, and cheeses with snacks for our condo.

We finally got to our loungers at 1:30 PM. I gotta say, it was so peaceful and quiet, with only 6 other guests occupying loungers although as far as the eye can see the beach is busy and the bars hopping. Next week is the American Thanksgiving, so perhaps we will miss the busy time. One can only hope, and one is hoping!!

Odin is the beach server Tonya has told me about. This guy is "da bomb"! He takes care of all the guests on the beach. He graciously set up our loungers & umbrellas and then promptly brought us menus to Fusion, a booming fun restaurant next door which is feet away. Lickety split we were enjoying a very (strong) but tasty margarita followed by a scrumptious order of sizzling chicken fajitas, with zesty guacamole, hand-made tortillas, roasted tomatoes & peppers, and fresh tortilla chips all for the whopping price of $10.50 Cdn. Food was DE-licious. Odin is our man! Today he has arranged for us to have a private massage right on our own balcony; 1 hour for $22.50 with a certified masseuse which in the end we found out is his wife Monica. Monica, have I told you lately that I love you? She was amazing!!

Last night as tired as we were (with about 3 hours of sleep) we headed up to 5th avenue, sat at a lovely cafe & watched the world go by listening to some Latin music. We hit happy hour; 2 for 1 drinks and yep we were pretty HAPPY in that hour! Frankly I've never done a tropical girl's only trip and Danielle and I marveled at the whole thing! How did we pull this off? I have the young children, Danielle's are older and so we are at different stages in our life, but the need to check out and enjoy some alone time as friends has been driving force to getting us here. (Thank you Al for making sure this happened!)

We enjoyed some chicken empanadas and some pulled pork on tostadas. It was very good & the fact I didn't have to cook it, well yahoo. On our way back to our condo, this guy had the most amazing tiny tiny squirrel monkey on his shoulder. For $5 you can have your picture taken with the little guy (the squirrel, not his owner!) Of course my camera battery had decided to die that particular moment, so no pic 😞 Charlie, the monkey probably weighs no more than 3 pounds but he does tricks and gave us high fives! What a little monkey (is THAT where that saying came from?) The owner put him on my shoulder and to be honest I prefer looking at him than wearing him, so I did a bit of a jingly jangly dance and told the owner to put him back where he belonged which wasn't on my shoulder! I have to say I was absolutely fascinated by this monkey! DISCLAIMER: After this I refuse to touch and pay for photos with animals that should not be paraded around a city for money. 'Nough said.'

We ended the evening on our balcony listening to the rock band at the bar next door. It was all & all a very relaxing, enjoyable day filled with surf, sand and sun and plenty of laughs! There are more pics at the bottom if you arrow down!

Signing off oceanfront:
Mom on the run with no buns (but missing those little buns...talking about my girls not Al.. well I miss you too honey bun!)

"No matter what happens, travel gives you a story to tell." ~


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement



18th November 2011

1st Day at Playa
I just realised there was a place to coment on your blog. Its great that there dosn't seem to be any disappointments so far. keep on enjoying your trip. Ray
18th November 2011

Sob!
Wish I was in Playa...it's -17...-23 celcius here in Calgary with the windchill. Think of me when you sip your margueritas!!
18th November 2011

Playa, Mexico!
Aww Barb that's too bad, oh just wait a minute....ahh, just took a sip of that margarita I just had for you! Off to have wine & cheese on the beach... ;) PS sorry about the weather!!!

Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 22; dbt: 0.0249s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb