Life's a "Beach"...


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Quintana Roo » Playa del Carmen
November 21st 2011
Published: November 21st 2011
Edit Blog Post

Yes my friends, life is a beach and I'm playin' in the sand!!!

Ahhh....Sunday (Domingo in Spanish) was another fabulous but WINDY day. Small children had to be tied down yesterday 😉 The big boats were bobbing and weaving and the ferry took longer than usual fighting the waves. I expect there were a few people tossing their cookies over the side (especially those that partake in the bar on the ferry!)

Sunday was our quietest day yet - we enjoyed breakfast on the beach, swam in the pool, then lounged around beachfront taking it all in. There is a new family in a condo across from us, and they have a son about 10 years of age who doesn't have an inside or even a decent outside voice. It's a stream of yelling all the time. Being a horseshoe-built condo building, it echoes like all get out. AND, he was taking those beach noodles & whacking the pool creating a huge startling noise when we were resting on our loungers. So we'd just doze off, enjoying the tranquility that this small complex offers, only to be jolted almost right out of our lounger.

At one point I looked at Danielle and said, "If that kid doesn't stop doing that, those beach noodles will have to be surgically removed from his body". Now keep in mind I'm a parent of young kids, but c'mon. The world is not your oyster and you don't have the right to be whacking your noodle around a pool. (OMG, I just realized how rude that sounded??). Anyhow...grr, you get my grouchy drift. His parents were dumber than posts, proud as punch over their hooligan offspring making a racket. FINALLY Danielle said as sweetly as she could, "Honey that's making A LOT of noise so can you stop that"...it was quiet after she said that. I think he caught me giving him the hairy eyeball. When all else fails, the hairy eyeball scares everybody. And trust me, I'm tough, but Danielle doesn't give second chances either. As I said, it's "Thelma & Louise's' road trip and we love everybody, (Till you mess with us).

Odin our friendly little beach server is hilarious. As soon as he sees us coming he lifts two loungers like a seasoned pro then he's digging a hole for our umbrella. He weighs no more than 100 pounds but he's the "superman of loungers"!! Yesterday we had grilled chicken, baked potatoes, salad, and fresh bread served to our loungers from the bar next door. Odin is quicker than all get out to ensure the guests from the condo on his beach are treated like royalty. The food was good; they put these spicy sauces with "roasted this & roasted that" on the side and they are a delightful burst of flavor in your mouth. And if that's not good enough, just add a guzzle of margarita and the world is right as rain!! (This is the fun part of condo living; the world is your oyster for food choice and you could eat 5 meals a day at totally different restaurants and never run out of choices. Very inexpensively I might add...

Sunday is a day of rest for Mexican families so the beaches were busier than normal. It's nice to see how these families enjoy being together, swimming, tossing a ball and enjoying their time together (after serving all us tourists all week long!)

Highlight of the day was a massage on our balcony. OMG...it was amazing; hearing the ocean, and having a certified masseuse take all the tension away was divine, but I could have used her later when I found out the news that was coming my way. My shoulders were pretty tense within 2 hours of that massage.

At 5 PM I get an email from Al that Lara (who's 12) was rushed to CHEO hospital with severe stomach pain. By the time he'd emailed me they had been there 3 hours and the doctors felt it could be her appendix. They were waiting on an ultrasound that proved to be an unpleasant experience for Lara. The surgeon was consulted and at this point they believe it's "pre-appendicitis" symptoms at play. It could heal or it will flare up and they will have to remove it. Talk about taking the wind out of your sails being a mom far away in Mexico on my first trip ever. Thank god Al is so reliable and a calm dad. Lara while lying in her hospital bed sent me a photo of her looking sick but still trying to smile and reassure me, god bless her soul. I've always been there to wipe their eyes, noses, and comfort them when they're sick, so this has been very disconcerting for me. Danielle decided the best form of medicine for me was...well another margarita which sort of relaxed my anxiety!

After a while I got my act together & Danielle and I finally wandered out for dinner and headed to Ajua Maya for a drink. Ajua is where Al and I had our wedding reception in '08. Brought back great memories & we enjoyed enjoyed the nightlife, the music and being together.

Woke Monday to a bright sun and the town's now hopping.

Today is the food festival we're attending, "Taste of Playa". We have VIP passes so we get to enter the festival an hour before everyone else. I am SO looking forward to this and am looking forward to interviewing a few chefs and the organizers of the event. I have been in touch with the organizers and am thrilled to have their ear for an interview before the event opens. I am sure it will be both a feast for the eyes and the tummy!

Signing off again from the Pueblo coffee bar (off to call Lara & see how's she's feeling today; emails from home say she's in pain but resting after they spent 12 hours at CHEO doing tests etc.)

Pictures of our ongoing trip are also located at the very bottom!!

Sal
"He who eats alone chokes alone." ~Proverb


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement



21st November 2011

Love the blogs
Sally never stop writing your blogs; they are so funny; even on a quiet day for you, you still experience something funny...well at least in my eyes; they are the highlight of my day when you are away; I get to dream through your eyes; one day, I will be with you ladies on that white sandy beach; keep on writing and have fun; called Martha and spoke with Lara, all is well; I will be there to help if needed...kisses and hugs.
21st November 2011

Oh Manon, you are funny too! YES one day we'll have you here and let me tell you they think they got their hands full with us...they don't know NOTHING till Man-off (not MAN-on) arrives...Love you..xoxo
22nd November 2011

great time apparently
I think I've gained 10 pounds just reading your Blogs. Looking forward to your review of the food festival-though how it can beat anything you've already described is hard to imagine. Hoping Lara is feeling better and out of pain by now.

Tot: 0.335s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 9; qc: 117; dbt: 0.173s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.4mb