Sea breezes


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Oaxaca » Puerto Escondido
July 31st 2007
Published: August 15th 2007
Edit Blog Post

My last days in Puerto Escondido were pretty good. I found this great hostel up on the hill overlooking Zicatela Beach with the most amazing views. I bought myself a locally made hammock that I strung up on the balcony. Now I really do know the meaning of unwinding. Falling asleep in a swaying hammock in the afternoon with gentle breezes blowing up from the sea. Every time you lazily open an eye, a sweeping panorama before you reminds you of the beauty that seems to be a purely Pacific Ocean experience. I will definitely be staying at Senorita Maria’s idyllic hostel next time I’m back in Puerto.

I also met a lovely girl called Alex from New Mexico in the States. She was studying Spanish at the Language Institue as well. Most afternoons we ended up at a beautiful beach called Playa Carrizalillo where there was a fun little wave breaking into the bay. Alex was working on her surfing so it was perfect for her. She's moving to New York after her holiday to Mexico so good luck with it babe and I'll hopefully see you there in a little while.

As for surfing Puerto Escondido, the swell never picked up properly after that first session when I arrived so I never got to see Puerto at it's best. I still surfed the place enough to be happy and I did manage to get a couple of fun little barrels. The best thing is that after surfing every day I'm feeling pretty fit and ready to have a crack at the next spot on my hit list. G-land in Indonesia...

Here’s some pics of the last few days I had in Mexico.



Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Another pic from my balconyAnother pic from my balcony
Another pic from my balcony

This shot shows the view a little better
Playa CarrizalilloPlaya Carrizalillo
Playa Carrizalillo

Beautiful, no?
Walking down to the beachWalking down to the beach
Walking down to the beach

Alex was too good at rock-scissor-paper and got to carry the light board
DuskDusk
Dusk

It was so good in the water that sometimes you didn't want to come in. Surfing till sundown was very tempting


15th August 2007

Whats the first rule of Tea Club ?
Dude - I just used up the last tea bag from our supply. (The red Sainsburys box that you really like).

Tot: 0.056s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0265s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb